First Time Users
FAQ
What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 375: Aspects of War - World War II in Europe
Print Reference Books
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for HIS 375. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library. Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages; lengthier treatments of particular topics can be found in the library's general collection using the online catalog.
World War II in Europe by Call Number: REFERENCE D740 .W67 1999ISBN: 08240702912 volumes. The first volume contains sections on Social & Political Issues and Events; Leaders and Individuals; and Units & Organizations. The second volume includes Weapons & Equipment; Strategy, Tactics, & Operation Techniques; and Battles, Campaigns, & Operations. Each section has alphabetical entries.
The Encyclopedia of World War IICall Number: REFERENCE D740 .E516 20055 volumes.
The Oxford Companion to World War IICall Number: REFERENCE D740 .O94 1995
Encyclopedia of the Holocaust by Call Number: REFERENCE D804.3 .E53 19904 volumes.
Specialized Databases
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning American history between the wars. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- JSTOROffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in multiple fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
- Historical New York TimesContains full text of The New York Times from 1851 to 2002 - an excellent place to find primary sources for your topic.
World History Primary Sources on the Web
- British History OnlinePrimary and secondary sources for the medieval and modern history of the British Isles.
- EuroDocsA vast collection of various sites that collect primary documents from all eras, covering most countries in Western Europe. Selections include court records, town archives, census data, and digital images.
- Nuremberg Trials ProjectThis project from the Harvard Law School Library includes transcripts, briefs, document books, evidence files, and other papers related to the he trial of military and political leaders of Nazi Germany before the International Military Tribunal and the United States Nuremberg Military Tribunals. Many of these documents have been digitized and have English transcripts available.
- The European LibraryThis online portal offers access to the collections of the 48 National Libraries of Europe and leading European Research Libraries. Only a fraction of the documents listed are available online, but searches can be limited to digital resources only. Likewise, only a small portion of the contents are in English, but searches can be limited by language.
Chicago Citation Guides
The History Department uses the citation style from the Chicago Manual of Style. The following sources document how to use this format.
- Chicago Manual of Style This link opens in a new windowThe Chicago Manual of Style Online is the venerable, time-tested guide to style, usage, and grammar in an accessible online format.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat
You must have JavaScript enabled to use this chat service.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password