Archives policies are available on the Archives portion of the website.
Olin Library currently only extends borrowing privileges to the faculty, staff, and students of Rollins College.
Please present your Rollins College ID card at the time of the loan transaction. Use of another patron's ID card to check out materials is not permitted.
Book returns are located in the front of the Circulation desk, the top of the Circulation Desk facing the lobby during circulation hours, and the book drop outside to the left of the main entrance.
| Materials | Loan Period | Renewal Information |
|---|---|---|
| Audio/Visual (DvDs, CDs) | 7 days | As long as a hold isn’t placed or the material isn’t recalled, it is available for multiple renewals. |
| Books | 3 weeks | As long as a hold isn’t placed or the material isn’t recalled, it is available for multiple renewals. |
| Equipment | 3 days
7 days for iPads |
Renewals of equipment are not permitted. If you need to re-check a piece of equipment out again, wait one hour after checking it in. |
| Games |
7 days |
Renewals of board games are not permitted. |
The Library circulates board games to registered borrowers who are in good-standing with the Library.
Borrowers are responsible for the safekeeping and return of all board game contents to the Library. The borrowing patron will be responsible for lost or damaged board games and accessories, as they will be responsible for paying the actual replacement costs, as determined by the Library, up to and including the full cost of game replacement. The Library will not accept a new replacement game in lieu of a lost or damaged board game.
Games may be played in the Library, but must first be checked out to the eligible borrower on their Library card.
This is a loan program only. Therefore, the Library staff is not available for instruction. Detailed instructions are provided in the specific game box.
By borrowing and initiating use of the Library's board games, the borrower agrees to abide by the Library's policies and rules, and agrees to hold the Library and its agents harmless from any and all claims, losses, damages, obligations, or liabilities, directly or indirectly, relating to the use of the Library's board games.
You will be required to sign the Board Game Rental User Agreement Form at the Circulation & Information Desk.
Please present your Rollins ID at the time of the loan transaction.
Each reserve has specific instructions regarding the loan period and whether or not the item is library use only. Circulation staff will inform you of those specifications. Otherwise, you can find it in the “Date Due” slip of each individual item.
Overdue fine for Reserves are $2.00 per HOUR per item and Reserves may not be renewed.
Reserve materials should be returned only to a Circulation Desk staff member. Please do not place reserves in the return slot or book drop to avoid late fine charges.
Copiers and printers are available in the library for student, faculty, and staff use. Rollins users can release print jobs, scan, and copy by either swiping their R-Card or logging in with their FoxID and password.
Guests of the library are able to print and make photocopies but must pay a small fee per page. Prints can be picked up at the Circulation and Information Desk during normal building hours. Color printing is not available for guests. Prices per page for printing are:
For Archives photo and document duplication fees, see the Archives and Special Collections Duplication Fee Schedule.
Please notify the library staff or the IT Help Desk of any problems with the copiers or if they are out of toner or paper.
The Olin Library is committed to creating a welcoming environment for its users. We believe displays help inform our patrons about events and activities on campus and in the community. We welcome student groups and campus departments to create displays that will contribute to developing the library as the “third place” on campus: a place where students, faculty, and members of the community can interact and discuss topics of interest as well as learn from each other.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted materials.
Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of these specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be "used for any purpose other than private study, scholarship, or research". If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of "fair use", that user may be liable for copyright infringement.
This institution reserves the right to refuse to accept a copying order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
Overdue items may be billed for replacement costs, even if the item is ultimately returned. If the library pays the replacement costs in order to remain in good standing with the loaning library, it is impossible to refund the fee.
One renewal for materials is often permitted, at the discretion of the lending institution. It is important for patrons to pick up their materials as soon as possible, and return them when they are due.
The primary purpose of the Library Meeting Room in the Olin Library is to support library instructional services. When the room is not in use for library instruction, it may be scheduled for meetings conducted by college faculty, staff, and approved student organizations. The seating capacity of the Library Meeting Room is 40 persons. The room may not be used for regularly scheduled classes or meetings unless approved by the Dean.
The Library Meeting Room may be reserved through Rollins Scheduling and Event Services. Book a Room using the Virtual EMS system. Every attempt will be made to provide adequate notice if a scheduling conflict occurs.
The Library Meeting Room may be scheduled during regular library hours.
Equipment should be requested when the Library Meeting Room is scheduled. An overview of the technology available in the room is located here. When booking a room, please notify Scheduling and Event Services of any special equipment needs.
Tables and chairs in the Library Meeting Room may be rearranged to suit the purposes of the scheduling group; as a courtesy to the next group, please return furniture to its normal configuration.
Food and beverages are allowed within the library.
The alarmed Exit Door may not be used to enter or exit the Library Meeting Room. Catering deliveries and clean-up are an exception to this policy. Privileges for use of the room will be suspended if this guideline is violated. The door must be securely closed immediately following the event for which it has been opened.
Any group scheduling a meeting in the Library Meeting Room will be held responsible for damage, vandalism, or theft that occurs during their meeting/event.
The Olin Library provides research services to Rollins College students, faculty, staff, and affiliated programs. Community users are invited to use library facilities for research purposes, however, they cannot take advantage of reciprocal agreements. The library provides on-campus access to books, periodicals, and research databases, but cannot extend interlibrary loan services or remote database access for members of the general public. Community users and alumni may purchase borrowing cards. See our Alumni and Community Users page for more information.
Alumni do not have access to our online resources from off-campus, nor can they take advantage of reciprocal agreements. Our license agreements with the vendors who provide access to subscription databases and other online resources are restricted to current students, employees, and emeriti only.
Alumni are welcome to use Olin Library’s facility, print collection, and most online resources while physically in the library. Certain resources (lab computers, room booking, and 24-hour access) are restricted to current students, faculty, and employees only. Please contact Derek Malone, the Dean of Olin Library, with any questions.
The Olin Library is committed to making reasonable accommodations for persons with disabilities to assure they have equal access to library services and resources. Please see our Service Policy for People with Disabilities for specific information below. We ask that all patrons help us maintain a clean and studious environment by observing common rules of library behavior. Please do not use cell phones or other forms of audible electronic equipment. Loud or disruptive patrons may be asked to leave the building. Specific guidelines for patron behavior are kept on file in the Dean’s Office, where they may be consulted for clarification. Decisions concerning behavior consistent with the research and educational aims of the Olin Library will be at the discretion of the Dean or supervisor on duty.
The Olin Library is committed to providing safe and convenient access to facilities and services for all students, faculty, and staff, and abides by the spirit of the Americans with Disabilities Act. Library faculty and staff make reasonable accommodations for college- affiliated persons with disabilities to assure they have equal access to library services and resources. Non-college affiliated patrons are provided reasonable accommodations within existing service parameters as stated in the Library Policies. Patrons with disabilities are asked to notify the library staff of their special needs.
In accordance with the ADA, service animals are allowed in the building.
The library strives to remove physical barriers whenever possible.
If barriers exist, please contact library staff and appropriate assistance will be provided.
The Office of Accessibility Services can help patrons who are in need of Academic Accommodations, including access to several assistive software and equipment within their office space, located on the first floor of the Olin Library.
A staff member from Accessibility Services can provide basic instruction in the use of their adaptive equipment, but an assistant will be necessary for continuous assistance.
Library staff will retrieve materials from the stacks for users. Materials will be retrieved as soon as possible; during busy times the library may need 24-hour advance notice.
Persons with disabilities may request extended loan periods for reserve and/or circulating materials. Renewals are available by telephone and online.
Staff will make every effort to assist patrons in obtaining information; however, extended research assistance or special instruction on adaptive equipment must be arranged by contacting the Head of Public Services in advance. Individuals are responsible for using library resources independently or with the aid of an assistant. The library cannot provide personalized keyboarding, reading, or note-taking services.
Rollins students who require these services should contact the Office of Accessibility Services by emailing access@rollins.edu or calling (407) 975-6463. All other patrons should contact Human Resources by emailing humanresources@rollins.edu or calling (407) 646-2102.
Per campus policy, children under the age of 13 are not allowed in the library unless supervised by an adult. For questions about the Child Protection policy, please contact Human Resources by emailing humanresources@rollins.edu or calling (407) 646-2102.
Any individual or organization wanting to engage in photography or videotaping on the Rollins Campus for broadcast or public distribution will need to fill out the Filming/Photography Request form or contact Scheduling and Event Services.
Several rooms are available in the library for individuals and groups who require a quiet and comfortable place to study or collaborate for assignments. The rooms are on a first come, first served basis.
Library patrons should keep all valuables including purses, backpacks, textbooks, laptops, or cell phones with them at all times. No personal items should be left unattended in the library, even for a brief period of time.
Smoking or vaping is not permitted in or outside the library.
The 2nd floor of the library is under video surveillance 24 hours a day, but is not actively monitored by security personnel. A copy of the Rollins video monitoring policy is available on MyRollins through Campus Safety's Resources page.
Tutoring and Writing Center policies are available on their section of the website.