Learn about our policies regarding collections use and development guidelines, duplication fees, and material use for reproduction.
Located on the first floor of Olin Library, most of the Archives’ collections are open for research to the Rollins community and general public without restriction.
All researchers using the collections in the Archives Reading Room are required to:
Within the Reading Room:
Access policies for College records scheduled for permanent retention fall into three general categories: General Distribution, Files Containing Personal Information, and General College Records.
Records in this category are open to researchers without restriction. Records in general distribution are the publications issued to the general public at the time of their creation, such as announcements, official college publications, calendars, brochures, minutes of faculty meetings, and some committee reports.
Additionally, they include the College charter and materials related to the history of the College, such as the following:
Records that contain personal and confidential information about an individual or individuals are closed for 75 years from the date of creation or until the death of the individual mentioned in the records. These records may include education records of living students or former students and records of living current or former faculty members, administrators, or other staff members. During the restricted period, access may be granted if the named individual gives permission in writing. After the restricted period has elapsed, researchers may apply to the Head of Archives and Special Collections for access to these materials. Information that is part of the public record about an individual is available for research.
Records of the administration of the College are restricted to use by the office/department of origin for 25 years from the date of creation. Officers of the College or administrators of departments may waive this time period at their discretion. After the restricted period has elapsed, researchers may apply to the Head of Archives and Special Collections for access to these materials.
Exceptions to the 25-year restriction policy include:
Requests for permission to examine any College records in connection with cases at law or legal proceedings of any kind are referred to the College Counsel.
The Department collects non-current College records and current and retrospective materials in all forms and in subject areas that support the teaching and research needs of the users of the Olin Library. Materials are acquired through purchase or gift, in accordance with the Department’s Guidelines for Collection Development outlined below.
For information concerning donations, please contact the Head of Archives and Special Collections, Wenxian Zhang.
Researchers may request copies of materials for research or publication purposes. Charges to reproduce items for publication vary by item type, the type of organization requesting use, and intended use. See the Duplication Fee Schedule for detailed information.
Digitized materials accessible in our Online Collections are provided solely for personal study, research, and teaching. In making these materials available, the Archives does not thereby grant permission to reproduce or redistribute, in part or in full. See the Materials Use Policy for conditions governing re-use of online collection materials.
Researchers wishing to reproduce materials for publication must complete an Application for Permission to Publish.
The Department of Archives and Special Collections collects, preserves, organizes, and provides access to the unique archival materials in the collection. Books and other materials are acquired through purchase or gift, in accordance with the Department’s Collection Development Policy. Considered for inclusion are current and retrospective materials in all forms and in subject areas that support the curricular and research needs of the users of the Rollins College library. The Head of Archives and Special Collections is responsible for the development of collections in the Department.
The Guidelines for Collection Development is essentially a planning tool formulated to guide the Department in making informed decisions on potential acquisitions. It not only serves as a key component of the appraisal process through which materials are added to the collection but also provides basic guidance to ensure an appropriate balance between the department’s resources and its commitments. In principle, the Department collects in areas that:
Materials are collected in all formats, including monographs, serials, manuscripts, pamphlets, ephemera, maps, government publications, broadsides, sound recordings, tapes, facsimile reproductions, and reprints. In general, items in the departmental collections are added in four ways:
The general boundaries of the departmental collections that support the teaching and research activities of Rollins’ academic community are specified in the following major areas:
Archives and Special Collections will, on occasion, purchase rare or out-of-print books that will add to the scholarly value of our existing collections. The Department also accepts donations of books that fit into the major areas listed above. However, the Department will not accept donations of materials where ownership has not been transferred to the College. We further reserve the right to sell or otherwise dispose of any donated materials that do not fit within our collection guidelines.
As part of its mission, the Department is charged with the collection and preservation of non-current college records possessing permanent administrative, legal, historical or research value. The purpose of collecting such records is to provide documentation of the development and growth of the College, particularly of its primary functions of teaching and research, its role in the community at large, the activities of its student body and alumni, and the development of its campus. Priority is given to those records that reflect the activities of the college officers and committees which formulate or approve College or division-wide policy, as well as faculty and administrative involvement in these activities.
Recorded information documenting the above activities is collected regardless of format, and includes: administrative papers and files, letter books, financial ledgers, notebooks, pictorial materials, sound recordings, microforms, computer tapes and discs, printed materials, maps, motion picture film and video tapes, and ephemera. Consult the Recommended Collection and Access Policies below for additional information.
At the Dept. Head’s discretion, donations of artifacts (plaques, statues, etc.) that have significant historical value to the history of the College and the nearby community will be accepted. Realia that are deemed to have insufficient research value to compensate for problems of space and storage will not be accepted.
Rare books are acquired for the Department’s collection, not because of their intrinsic value as rare items, or their aesthetic interest as objects, but rather because students and scholars frequently have difficulty in obtaining such items for research use. Items meeting the following criteria will be added to the Rare Book Collection:
The Archives and Special Collections will actively collect all publications by and about faculty, staff, students and other people affiliated with Rollins College. These include: books, journal and newspaper articles, bibliographies, pamphlets, manuals and technical publications, maps, posters, publicly released audio-visual materials, etc.
The department also collects personal papers of individuals who in some way have had a connection with the College. Occasionally, papers of non-Rollins individuals may be accepted after careful review by the Head of Archives and Special Collections. On rare occasions, records of organizations that have some connections with the College and the nearby community may be added to the collections.
In general, the Department does not purchase personal papers; they are usually acquired through donations. Personal papers cover a wide range of formats. Some of the most common are correspondence (both professional and personal), diaries, laboratory notebooks and other research files, classroom teaching materials, draft copies of writing and speeches, photographs, and unpublished audio-visual materials. However, personal papers usually do not include materials created in the normal operation of a College department.
Major collections under this category that are currently in custody include: the Hamilton Holt Papers, the Henry Nehrling Collection, the Rex Beach Collection, the Blackman Manuscript Collection, the Glenn Scrapbook, the Marjorie Kinnan Rawlings Collection, the Jessie Belle Rittenhouse Collection, the A. Reynolds Morse Collection of M.P. Shiel, and the Clare Benedict Collection of Constance Fenimore Woolson Memorabilia.
Graduate theses and honors papers are kept in the Rollins Collection.
The Department of Archives and Special Collections also retains a photographic collection of Rollins and historic Winter Park, mainly transferred from other departments and donated (See the Guidelines for Photographic Collection). In addition, current news articles about the College, its personnel, students and events are collected by the Department.
The Department maintains a research collection of Florida materials. It provides information about Florida and supports the research needs of Rollins faculty, students, and the community at large. Monographs about the State of Florida are actively collected. The collection emphasizes scholarly research on the history, literature, economics, politics, scientific development, environment, humanities, and cultural affairs of the State. Special consideration is given to materials related to Winter Park, Orlando, and the greater Central Florida region. In addition, the Department also keeps a vertical file on the above-mentioned areas. In general, one copy of all books with major chapters about Florida will be purchased and added to the Library’s general collection upon the recommendation of librarians or teaching faculty members, if the items are judged to be of current importance and wide usefulness in support of teaching and research at Rollins.
Exceptions to the Florida Collection are: cookbooks, consumable materials, genealogy, and juvenile books (except historic ones). Although not a state depository, the Department will selectively acquire state and local documents related to the subjects listed above. The Department will also selectively acquire a limited number of travel books on Florida.
Furthermore, periodicals with primarily Florida content will be purchased. Only one copy will be purchased, and the Head of Archives & Special Collections will work with the Head of Public Services and the Collection Development Librarian in deciding the holdings and locations of journal titles. Other formats, such as A-V materials, maps, pamphlets and/or rare materials, will be acquired on a title-by-title basis, at the discretion of the Head of Archives & Special Collections.
The Department holds the collections of William Sloane Kennedy, a writer and scholar, and a close friend of Walt Whitman. Through funds from a special endowment, the Department actively acquires scholarly publications on the lives and literatures of both Walt Whitman and William Sloane Kennedy. Materials about or by them will be collected, either in print or manuscript form. Rare items with research value may be purchased on a title-by-title basis within the limits of funding. The Department will regularly check bibliographical references and databases for possible additions. Efforts will be made to obtain items either in the original or in facsimile, when it does not infringe upon copyright restrictions.
Subject and Language Modifiers
Although the majority of materials are in English, there are no exclusions by language, chronological period, or geography (except for the Florida Collection). However, materials must be appropriate to collection criteria delineated in this document.
Preservation and Weeding
The Department recognizes the need to preserve the items within various collections. This may include placing smaller items in preservation folders, photographs in archival sleeves, manuscripts in acid-free folders, and rare books conserved or preserved in a climate-controlled environment. Such preservation will be performed as resources are available.
The Department does not normally weed materials from its collections. However, collecting emphases change over time and this may warrant weeding of some materials. For donated items, such weeding must be legal under the terms of gift agreements.
Facility and Access
The Department of Archives and Special Collections is located on the first floor of the Olin Library. In addition to the public reading room, there is a closed stack area, a vault, and a meeting room. Bibliographic access to almost all monographs in Special Collections is available via the Library’s online public access catalog.
All items in Archives & Special Collections are available when the Department is open to the public, and they may only be used in the reading room with staff supervision. Restrictions apply to materials containing personal information. Photocopying, if permitted, is done by the departmental staff for a fee.
Resource Sharing
The Department develops special collections within the limits of the College library’s space, staff, and financial resources, and the availability of related materials in other libraries and repositories, especially in the Central Florida region.
Whenever possible, the Department will accommodate ILL requests on a case-by-case basis. Within the limits of copyright, photocopies will be sent if the copying can be done without damaging the original.
Purpose
The Rollins College Archives collects and preserves the history of the institution. This is done by collecting and organizing different media: paper, photographs, audio and visual tapes, textiles, computer disks, and other electronic media and paraphernalia, as long as they document persons, events, architecture and general College-related developments.
Procedure
Incoming records are examined as to the value they have for the Collection. Questions asked should be: What should be kept and why should it be kept; will it be of use to the institution or anyone else using the Archives?
Administrative records are sorted by provenance and added to distinctive series and subseries. They are sifted for immaterial items and culled for duplications. Those of permanent value are then readied for description.
The structure of the Archival classification system follows the organizational scheme of the institution when it concerns internally generated records.
Documents pertaining to staff, faculty, administrators, trustees or students are grouped separately and efforts are made to maintain the integrity of the original order. Whenever this order is no longer apparent, the archivist will establish a logical scheme which will ease retrieval whenever called for.
Theses, honors papers and publications of persons connected with the institution are kept in separate collections, not with the papers of the creator.
Student records pertaining to academic performance are the purview of the Registrar and kept in the Registrar’s domain.
Archives staff will photocopy or scan items in good condition according to the following fee schedule. Scans will be created at a resolution of 300 DPI. Alternatively, researchers on-site may use a personal camera to take digital photographs of materials for reference purposes only at no cost.
Researchers wishing to use materials from the Archives in publication, performance, exhibition, or broadcast must secure high-resolution copies from the Archives. Scans will be created at a resolution of 300 DPI or higher, depending on the requirements of the end use. Duplication fees for items used in publication are assessed according to intended use, the type of organization requesting use, and item type. Fees are for one-time, non-exclusive, single-language publication rights. Rates for uses not listed will be quoted upon request. All requests for reuse of duplicated items or a change in use must be submitted in writing to Wenxian Zhang, Head of Archives and Special Collections, by emailing wzhang@rollins.edu.
All researchers wishing to reproduce materials for publication must complete an Application for Permission to Publish.
Commercial Use
Commercial use includes publication in a book, journal or magazine, or a poster or calendar. Fees for digital copies of audio, film, and video will be assessed on a cost-recovery basis, and will depend on the format and condition of the item.
Non-commercial Use
Non-commercial use does not incur a fee. This use includes Rollins College publications in any form; local or regional historical society use in journals, pamphlets or for display; and publications such as newspapers, where the publicity advantage gained outweighs the value of a fee.
| Digital Scans (still images, text documents) | ||
|---|---|---|
| For-profit organization | Non-profit organization | |
| For print publication | $50.00 | $25.00 |
| For video/film publication | $75.00 | $35.00 |
| For advertising | $100.00 | $50.00 |
| For public exhibition | $100.00 | $50.00 |
A credit line must be included for each item reproduced. The credit line should read:
Department of Archives and Special Collections
Olin Library, Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida
As much as possible, the Department of Archives and Special Collections seeks to provide free and open access to its holdings. Most collections are open for research to the Rollins community and general public without restriction. Exceptions apply to collections or records where restrictions are stipulated at the time of donation, and to some permanent College records. Access restrictions for College records are described in the Access Policy for Permanent College Records, seen above.
All researchers using collections on-site are required to complete a User Registration Form, available on the Archives’ website, and present a photo ID. All materials must be examined in the Reading Room and cannot be borrowed.
Researchers may use a personal camera to take digital photographs of materials, or may have Archives staff photocopy or scan items, for reference purposes only. Scanned reference copies will be made at a resolution of 150 DPI. Researchers wishing to use materials from the Archives in publication, performance, exhibition, or broadcast must secure high-resolution copies from the Archives and complete an Application for Permission to Publish, available on the Archives’ website. Duplication fees for reference and publication purposes are outlined in the Duplication Fee Schedule, also available on the Archives’ website.
The copyright law of the United States (Title 17 U.S. Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. Under certain conditions specified in the law, libraries and archives are authorized to furnish a photocopy or other reproduction. One of those specified conditions is that the photocopy or reproduction is not to be “used for any purpose other than for private study, scholarship or research.” If a user makes a request for, or later uses, a photocopy or reproduction for purposes in excess of “fair use,” that user may be liable for copyright infringement. The Department reserves the right to refuse to accept a duplication order if, in its judgment, fulfillment of the order would involve violation of copyright law.
A credit line must be included for each item reproduced. The credit line should read:
Department of Archives and Special Collections
Olin Library, Rollins College, Winter Park, Florida
Online collections are provided by the Rollins College Archives solely for personal study, research, and teaching. Copyrights on the majority of online items are either held by Rollins College or the donors and/or their representatives. However, sometimes the nature of the materials means that copyright or other information about restrictions may be difficult or even impossible to determine, despite reasonable efforts. Under such circumstances, the Rollins College Archives claims only physical ownership of the materials.
In making collections available online, the Rollins College Archives does not thereby grant permission to reproduce or redistribute items, in part or in full. The copyright law of the United States (Title 17, United States Code) governs the making of photocopies or other reproductions of copyrighted material. The user must assume full responsibility for any use of the materials, including but not limited to infringement of copyright and publication rights of reproduced materials.
Downloading of items in the online collections is granted for the purposes of private study, research, or teaching (“fair use”). Other uses require permission to reproduce, alter, or transmit items. Examples of these activities include, but are not limited to, paper or electronic publishing, video production, exhibits, presentations, interior décor, advertising, or similar commercial activities. The researcher is responsible for communicating with the copyright owner(s) for any use beyond those allowed under fair use. Requests to publish or redistribute must be obtained in writing from the owner(s) of the copyright and the Department of Archives and Special Collections, Rollins College, Winter Park, FL 32789.
Disclaimer
All online collections are provided “as is” without a warranty of any kind, either expressed or implied, including but not limited to the implied warranties of merchantability, fitness for a particular use, and/or non-infringement. The Rollins College Archives assumes no responsibility, and shall not be liable for any damage to or viruses that may infect users’ computer equipment or other property on account of use of the site, or downloading of any text, images, or content from the website.
While the Rollins College Archives endeavors to ensure that this website is accurate and up to date, it accepts no responsibility for errors or omissions and recommends that users exercise their own judgment and care with respect to its use. The material on this site may include views or recommendations of third parties, which do not necessarily reflect the views of Rollins College or indicate their commitment to a course of action.
Questions about copyright and re-use of any materials in the online collections should be directed to Wenxian Zhang, Head of Archives and Special Collections (wzhang@rollins.edu or 407-646-2231).