What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 140: African-American History I. This is not a complete list. The databases here are those most likely to yield relevant results, but others might have a few relevant materials; similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers, or with a search in the online catalog.
The books listed here will be found in several different places. The call numbers organize books by their subject matter, but aren't enough by themselves to tell you in what part of the library you'll find the item.
- If there's no special description on this page, the book will be found in the general collection, located on the 3rd and 4th floors of Olin.
- If the location says Reference, it will be found on the 2nd (main entrance) floor of Olin.
- Online books can be read by following the links on this page.
Journal Article Databases at Rollins
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles relevant to this class. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.
- JSTOROffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in multiple fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Primary Resources for Your History Engine Project
Primary sources will be central to your History Engine entries for this class. Many collections of these resources can be found under the Primary Sources and Local History tabs above. This page lists some additional resources that might be useful for you.
Primary Source Online Collections via Rollins
- Ancestry Library Edition (Legacy Platform) This link opens in a new window
Unlock the story of you with sources like censuses, vital records, immigration records, family histories, military records, court and legal documents, directories, photos, maps, and more.
- Everyday Life & Women in America, c. 1800-1920 This link opens in a new windowThis resource explores women’s lives as represented in American social, cultural and popular culture during the 19th and early 20th centuries.
Gallup Brain Edit/Delete Quick Stats
- Old Florida MapsDr. Joseph Fitzgerald and the University of Miami Libraries present this collection of maps with many detailed descriptions.
- World Map Collection - State University Libraries of FloridaWorld Map Collections are a cooperative project of several public and private universities of Florida and the Florida Department of Environmental Protection to make digitized modern and antique maps available on the Web. The Florida and Caribbean collections are particularly strong,
- Alabama MapsDespite its name, Alabama Maps is a great source of historical maps for the entire world. It is an ongoing project of the Cartographic Research Laboratory, which operates under the auspices of the College of Arts and Sciences at the University of Alabama. Collections include maps of the Caribbean , the Southeastern U.S., and Florida.
Newspaper Archives via Rollins
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
Freely Available Web Resources
- The Library of Congress - American MemoryThis resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture. It includes primary source slavery narratives and other first-person narratives of the South.
- Florida Memory ProjectSearchable collections of manuscripts, war records, historic images, vital statistics, audio and video recordings.
- Rollins Digital Archives: Winter Park and FloridaThis collection includes photos, postcards, and historical documents that are related to Winter Park and Florida before the age of theme parks.
Chronologies
These sources organize significant events and developments chronologically, allowing you to contextualize in time.
The African American Years: Chronologies of American History and Experience by Call Number: Reference E185 .S797 2003Publication Date: 2003Includes a detailed chronology of Africa-American life year by year, as well as lengthy entries addressing significant periods and topics in African-American history.
Timelines of African-American History by Call Number: Reference E185.C86 1994ISBN: 0399521275Publication Date: 1994A year-by-year listing of developments in many facets of African-American history.
Biographical Sources
These sources will help you learn more about the individuals involved in your research topic.
Notable Black American Men by Call Number: Reference E 185.86.N68 1999ISBN: 0787607630Publication Date: 1998-10-12Includes substantial entries for black political leaders, scholars, artists, social leaders, businessmen, and other prominent male figures.
Black Women in America by Call Number: E185.86.B542 2005ISBN: 0195223748Publication Date: 2005-01-01This three volume set includes not only biographical information on prominent black women but also encyclopedic entries on issues and events shaping and defining the history of black women in America.
African-American History Sources
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for your class. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library.
Encyclopedia of African-American Culture and History by Call Number: Reference Overflow E185 .E54 1996A comprehensive 5 volume collection of essays on the African-American historical, legal, and cultural experiences from 1619 to the present.
Statistical Record of Black AmericaCall Number: Reference E185.5 .S3 1990Publication Date: 1990Statistical information about African-Americans. Much of this information is very dated; note that the book was published in 1990. However, it still has some useful data for historical purposes.
Encyclopedia of African American History by Call Number: Reference E 185.E545 2006Publication Date: 2006-04-06A thorough encyclopedic treatment of the issues, events, conditions, and customs shaping African American life. Volume 1 covers the period from 1619 to 1895.
An Eyewitness History of Slavery in America by Call Number: E 441.S36 2001ISBN: 0816044031Publication Date: 2001-08-01A chronological series of overviews, supplemented by documents, biographies, and a glossary, details the history of slavery in America from 1441 to 1865.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat