What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 375.1: Aspects of War: The Civil War and Reconstruction. This is not a complete list; similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers, or with a search in the online catalog.
These books will be found in several different places. The call numbers organize books by their subject matter, but aren't enough by themselves to tell you in what part of the library you'll find the item.
- If there's no special description on this page, the book will be found in the general collection, located on the 3rd and 4th floors of Olin.
- If the location says Reference, it will be found on the 2nd (main entrance) floor of Olin.
- Online books can be read by following the links on this page.
General Reference
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for HIS 346. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library. Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages; lengthier treatments of particular topics can be found in the library's general collection using the online catalog.
Encyclopedia of the American Civil War by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1576070662Publication Date: 2000-12-13The Library also has physical copies of this five volume set at Reference E 468.H47 2000. The set includes many primary source documents. These are in the fifth volume of the print edition, and categorized by topic in the online version.
American Civil War: A State-by-State Encyclopedia by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 1598845292Publication Date: 2015-01-01
Encyclopedia of the Confederacy by Call Number: Reference E487 .E55 1993ISBN: 0132759918Publication Date: 1993-09-014 volumes.
Greenwood Encyclopedia of Daily Life in America by Call Number: Reference E169.1.G7553 2009Publication Date: 2009This four volume set details the experience of daily life in America, from the details of domestic life to the political and social concerns of a particular time. Volume 2 covers the period from 1861 to 1900.
Every Day of the Civil War: A Chronological Encyclopedia by Call Number: Reference E468.3 .H35 2010ISBN: 9780786444649Publication Date: 2010-07-30
Encyclopedia of Southern culture by Call Number: Reference F209 .E53 1989Publication Date: 1989An extensive, topically arranged guide to Southern states including Florida.
Florida Reference Sources
The Encyclopedia of FloridaCall Number: Reference F311 .E53 1997Arranged by topic, this set includes a geographical overview, a chronology, a directory of services, lists of governors and historical places, maps, the state constition, and more. 2nd ed. 2 volumes.- Florida Biographical Dictionary: People of All Times and Places Who Have Been Important to the History and Life of the StateCall Number: Reference CT229 .F57 1995An alphabetically arranged guide to important Floridians and those who have played an important part in the history of Florida.
- Encyclopedia of Southern culture by Call Number: Reference F209 .E53 1989Publication Date: 1989An extensive, topically arranged guide to Southern states including Florida.
