What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for HIS 141: African-American History II. This is not a complete list. The databases here are those most likely to yield relevant results, but others might have a few relevant materials; similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers, or with a search in the online catalog.
The books listed here will be found in several different places. The call numbers organize books by their subject matter, but aren't enough by themselves to tell you in what part of the library you'll find the item.
- If there's no special description on this page, the book will be found in the general collection, located on the 3rd and 4th floors of Olin.
- If the location says Reference, it will be found on the 2nd (main entrance) floor of Olin.
- Online books can be read by following the links on this page.
Gazetteers
Historical Gazetteer of the United States by Call Number: Reference E 154.H45 2005ISBN: 0415939488Publication Date: 2004-11-03
The Cambridge Gazetteer of the USA and Canada by Call Number: Reference E 154.C36 1995ISBN: 0521415799Publication Date: 1995-10-27
Orlando Business Community
Florida Newspaper Archives
- Florida Digital Newspaper LibraryAccess to the news and history of Florida, freely available with zoomable page images and full text.
- Gale Florida Newspaper DatabaseFull Text journals with a focus on the State of Florida. Content from 1980 and later.
Other Primary Resources for Your Projects
Primary sources will be central to your Mapping Rosenwald Schools and History Engine entries for this class. In addition to the sources on this page, many collections of these resources can be found under the Primary Sources and Local History tabs above. The Government Resources Subject Guide might also be useful for you - especially the State and Local Sources tab.
Freely Available Web Resources
- The Library of Congress - American MemoryThis resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture. It includes primary source slavery narratives and other first-person narratives of the South.
- Florida Memory ProjectSearchable collections of manuscripts, war records, historic images, vital statistics, audio and video recordings.
- Rollins Digital Archives: Winter Park and FloridaThis collection includes photos, postcards, and historical documents that are related to Winter Park and Florida before the age of theme parks.
- Winter Park History: Jernigan FamilyThis page on the Winter Park Public Library site provides documents on the family of Aaron Jernigan and describes further information available in the Winter Park History & Archives Collection.
- Orange County Florida GenWebThis site has "seceeded" from the US GenWeb project, and at this point seems awkwardly implemented, with confusing structure and content borrowed haphazardly from sources such as Wikipedia. Nevertheless, it might provide clues to information which can be verified elsewhere.
- Lynching in AmericaWith support from Google, the Equal Justice Initiative has created an interactive experience inspired by their report Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror. This project tells the story of racial terror in America and explores how its legacy continues to shape the United States today.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat