Head of Collections
Schedule a consultation
Assignment
PROMPT: For your final project, you are asked to research a specific issue in American politics that pertains to debates surrounding one of the following broad topic areas: 1) class; 2) race; 3) sex and/or gender; 4) civil liberties; 5) immigration; 6) political ideology. The issue you select should be one that is subject to contemporary political debates and you should approach it with an open and curious mind. Examples of possible topics include: the Second Amendment (gun rights vs. gun control), reproductive access (pro-life vs. pro-choice positions), or income inequality (free market vs. economic redistribution policies).
- Proposal (10%)
- Annotated Bibliography Pt. 1 and Pt. 2 (40%)
- Final Presentation (10%)
- Research Self-Evaluation (10%)
- Final Reflection (30%)
Final Project
Media Bias Chart
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and similar fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
US Government Publications
- Congressional DigestAn independent publication featuring controversies before Congress. Congressional Digest is not an official organ, nor is it controlled by any party, interest, class or sect.
- Supreme Court DebatesSupreme Court Debates is an independent journal featuring controversies before the U.S. Supreme Court. Each issue covers a current prominent case, along with in-depth historical and legal background and excerpts from lawyers’ arguments before the Court.
- Federal RegisterPublished by the Office of the Federal Register, National Archives and Records Administration (NARA), the Federal Register is the official daily publication for rules, proposed rules, and notices of Federal agencies and organizations, as well as executive orders and other presidential documents.
- Congressional Research Service ReportsThe Congressional Research Service (CRS) serves as shared staff to congressional committees and Members of Congress. CRS experts assist at every stage of the legislative process — from the early considerations that precede bill drafting, through committee hearings and floor debate, to the oversight of enacted laws and various agency activities.