Assignment
Each student must prepare a case study that analyzes whether erosion of democratic practice has occurred in their selected American state. Students will be given a template to follow for their research; the case study is worth 25%. The results from your research will be used to build a data base that analyzes the quality of democracy at the state-level in the United States. The goal is to create a model for analyzing democratic erosion at the sub-national level in federal systems in other countries. Students must also prepare 2 substantive blog posts that engage an issue raised in either an article on democratic erosion assigned by the instructor and responses to a post by a student at a different university. Finally, 5% of your grade will be based upon participation. Also, it is possible to publish an expanded version of one your blogs on democracy in The Democracy Papers which will be an online journal sponsored through The Democracy Project at Rollins. One of your blog posts should be dedicated to being published in the online series.
Voter Laws and Suppression
- Block the Vote: Voter Suppression in 2020American Civil Liberties (ACLU) Report
- National Conference of State LegislaturesThe National Conference of State Legislatures, created by state legislators and legislative staff in 1975, serves America’s 50 states and its territories. Every state legislator and staffer is a member of the organization and has complete access to the latest in bipartisan policy research, training resources and technical assistance tailored specifically to their needs. And, NCSL offers members a variety of opportunities to connect and collaborate, notably at its signature event, the NCSL Legislative Summit. Use the links below to get involved or connect with NCSL staff.
Redistricting
- Gerrymandering ProjectThe Gerrymandering Project does nonpartisan analysis to understand and eliminate partisan gerrymandering at a state-by-state level.
Databases
- Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to quantitative facts by market sector. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- Roper Center iPoll This link opens in a new windowFrom the Roper Center for Public Opinion Research, Roper iPoll is the largest collection of poll data anywhere—from 1935 to present. Contains data from U.S. and international polling firms with broad topical coverage of opinions and behavior on social issues, politics, pop culture, international affairs, and more. Datasets available for download.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create an account. The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. Daily broadsheet editions are printed for the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia. The newspaper has won 47 Pulitzer Prizes.
- New York TimesRollins College maintains an online subscription to the New York Times website. Students, faculty, and staff will need to create an account by navigating to accessnyt.com and selecting Rollins College from the Find School search box.
Olin Library Advanced Search
Head of Collections
US Census
Useful Websites
- PEW ResearchThe Pew Research Center is a nonpartisan fact tank that provides information on the issues, attitudes and trends shaping America and the world. The center conducts public opinion polling, demographic studies, media content analysis and other empirical social science research. It does not take positions on policy issues.