Head of Collections
Assignment
Students must prepare one civil rights research paper worth 15 %. This is a short paper (7-8 pages, typed) that identifies a contemporary civil rights policy and analyzes how ‘harm’ is being defined by decision makers. For example, a paper might compare the ‘Guidance Letters’ from the Obama and Trump administrations for Title IX on college campuses. A second example is to evaluate the effects on minority voting rights following the Supreme Court’s decision in Shelby County, AL v. Holder (2012).
Search the Olin Library
Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and similar fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
US Government Publications
- Congressional DigestAn independent publication featuring controversies before Congress. Congressional Digest is not an official organ, nor is it controlled by any party, interest, class or sect.
- Supreme Court DebatesSupreme Court Debates is an independent journal featuring controversies before the U.S. Supreme Court. Each issue covers a current prominent case, along with in-depth historical and legal background and excerpts from lawyers’ arguments before the Court.