Find Articles
You can use databases to help you find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. The ones in this section contain a lot of political science or public policy materials, but don't ignore the databases in the multidisciplinary section below. Political Science materials are scattered throughout our databases and you will find good information in any of these resources.
Recommended Political Science Databases
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Inter-university Consortium for Political and Social Research This link opens in a new window
An international consortium of more than 810 academic institutions and research organizations, ICPSR provides leadership and training in data access, curation, and methods of analysis for the social science research community.
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowContains indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy, including political theory.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and similar fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
This section contains just a few of our Political Science Databases. Use the link below to access more. You can also use the Find a Database button on the Library's homepage to access all of our databases.
Political Science and Public Policy Newspapers
- The HillThe Hill is a non-partisan, non-ideological newspaper that describes the inner workings of the U.S. Congress, the pressures confronting policy makers and the many ways in which decisions are made.
- The EconomistReports on and offers analysis of international news, world politics, business, finance, science, and technology. Includes 16 news categories, offering summaries on politics and business; short articles on world leaders, science, technology, finance and economics; surveys of countries and regions; obituaries; and reviews of literature and the arts. The back of each issue includes handy economic, financial, and market indicators.
- Roll CallCovering Capitol Hill since 1955
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases provide access to a wide variety of content covering a multitude of topics. Each database contains different information and is an excellent place to start your research process. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your FoxID in order to access these resources.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
Use the link below to access a complete list of the databases provided by the Olin Library.
- A-Z Database ListA complete list of all of the databases offered by the Olin Library. You can use the filters at the top of the list to limit by subject or type.
Political Science Journals
- American Journal of Political Science Publishing research in all major areas of political science including American politics, public policy, international relations, comparative politics, political methodology, and political theory, the American Journal of Political Science (AJPS) is committed to significant advances in knowledge and understanding of citizenship, governance, and politics, and to the public value of political science research.
- American Political Science Review American Political Science Review is political science's premier scholarly research journal, providing peer-reviewed articles and review essays from subfields throughout the discipline. Areas covered include political theory, American politics, public policy, public administration, comparative politics, and international relations. APSR has published continuously since 1906.
- Journal of Politics in Latin America The Journal of Politics in Latin America is a peer reviewed, Open Access journal focused on comparative politics in Latin America. The journal is dedicated to promoting a deeper understanding of the political process and political institutions in the region.
- Political Analysis Political Analysis publishes peer reviewed articles that provide original and significant advances in the general area of political methodology, including both quantitative and qualitative methodological approaches. It is the official journal of the Society for Political Methodology and the Political Methodology Section of the American Political Science Association.
Find more journals using the links below.
- Political Science Journals on BrowZineUse this link to browse journals, magazines, and newspapers that relate to the discipline of political science.
- Find Journals, Magazines, or NewspapersUse this link if you already know the title or ISSN of the publication you are searching for.
Newspapers
To access these resources, you will need to log in with your FoxID if you are off campus.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
- New York Times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create/renew an account. Once your account is set up, you can login in to access the full online content in the upper right for a year until it expires. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980; the search button is at the upper left of the page.
- New York Times, 1851-2020 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
- Orlando Sentinel This link opens in a new window
Newsbank includes the full text of the Orlando Sentinel from 1985 to the present.
- Orlando Sentinel: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
- Spanish News Sources This link opens in a new window
126 Spanish-language titles from around the world.
- Wall Street Journal This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create an account. The Wall Street Journal is a New York based newspaper with a focus on business and financial news.
- Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create an account. The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. Daily broadsheet editions are printed for the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia. The newspaper has won 47 Pulitzer Prizes.
For more news resources, use the links below:
- Find Journals, Magazines, or NewspapersUse this link if you already know the title or ISSN of the publication you are searching for.
- BrowZineUse this link to browse publications by title, ISSN, or subject. You can access the full text of the publication directly through the app.
- FlipsterDownload this app to access digital copies of popular magazines.
Research Tip
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that will help you identify articles that are available through Rollins College even if you're searching the internet in general, and not the Olin Library website specifically. Add it to your browser of choice for free today to be more efficient at accessing the resources you need in order to succeed.
Find It!
What is this?
It is a link resolver service that improves database searching at Rollins. This link appears if one of our databases does not contain the full text. The full text of the article may be available in another one of our resources, the button creates a link from the citation to the full article.
This service also works with searches in Google Scholar.
Head of Collections
Recommendations
Is there a journal, newspaper, or magazine that we're not currently subscribing to that could help you with your research? Let us know! Fill out the Journal Recommendation Form and we'll consider your suggestion.
Need Research Support?
- Book a consultation with Your Librarian
- Schedule an appointment with the Tutoring & Writing Center
- Search the library FAQ
Contact Us
Your Librarians here at Olin Library are ready to assist and guide you on your research journey.
- Call us at (407) 646-2521
- Text us at (407) 874-5909
- Email us at askolinlibrary@rollins.edu