Your Librarian
Assignment
For this assignment, you are to create an annotated bibliography for your research paper.
An annotated bibliography includes the entire citation of the material formatted correctly according the the style you choose (APA, MLA, Chicago). With each citation, you must explain the importance of each work and how it fits into your overall project.
You are expected to include at least 5-6 books or articles.
Questions you may want to ask include:
What are the main arguments? What is the point of this book or article? What topics are covered? If someone asked what this article/book is about, what would you say?
Is it a useful source? How does it compare with other sources in your bibliography? Is the information reliable?
How does it help you shape your argument? How can you use this source in your research project? Has it changed how you think about your topic?
(Used with permission from the Purdue OWL website)
The Purdue OWL website offers help in writing your annotation and formatting your bibliography.
Search the Olin Library
Library Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new windowOffers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Limit your search to the discipline "Political Science" or "Public Policy & Administration" for better results.
Also, remember JSTOR's "moving wall" means you will not find the very latest research.
- Project MuseFull text of scholarly journals in the arts and humanities, social sciences, and mathematics. Use the advanced search and limit your search by discipline to "Politics and Public Policy" for better results.
- ProQuest DirectArticles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Reference Books
Presidential administration profiles for students by Call Number: JK511 .P78 2000ISBN: 0787627968
Congressional Quarterly's guide to the presidency by Call Number: JK516 .C57 1989ISBN: 0871875004
