What are these sources?
Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages. Looking up a topic in a reference book is an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key concepts, terminology, and people associated with the topic. This background is important both for understanding a topic and for searching effectively in online databases for articles and books. In addition, many reference works provide carefully selected bibliographies which may lead you to further reading. More detailed studies can be found in the online catalog.
American & Latin American History
- Enyclopedia of American StudiesThis online encyclopedia covers the history, philosophy, arts, and cultures of the United States in relation to the world, from pre-colonial days to the present.
Encyclopedia of the North American colonies by Call Number: 1st Floor E45 .E53 1993A comprehensive 3-volume set with chapter-length entries on many aspects of the American colonial era.
Handbook of North American Indians by Call Number: 1st Floor E77 .H25A definitive 16-volume source on Indian history and culture.
Encyclopedia of American Urban History by Call Number: 3rd Floor HT123 .E49 2007ISBN: 0761928847Publication Date: 2006-12-07es Addresses the rise of urban America using a concise, readable, and historical format Focuses on the 20th century-a century with the most dramatic urban growth and a time when the United States transformed from being a nation of shopkeepers and farmers to an urban industrial, and then post-industrial society Defines "urban" broadly, including suburban environments, and even something new and, literally, far out, called "penurbia"
Encyclopedia of African American Culture and History : the Black Experience in the Americas by Call Number: OnlineISBN: 0028663918Publication Date: 2006
World History
Encyclopedia of the Enlightenment by Call Number: 1st Floor B802 .E53 2003This encyclopedia focuses on the entire range of philosophic and social changes engendered by the Enlightenment.
Encyclopedia of the Renaissance by Call Number: 1st Floor CB361 .E52 1999ISBN: 0684805146Includes information on philosophers and scholars, artists and musicians, movements and theories, friars and aristocrats, playwrights and poets, and other individuals and terms likely to be encountered while studying the history, literature, art, or philosophy of the Renaissance.
Encyclopedia of Modern AsiaCall Number: 1st Floor DS4 .E53 2002ISBN: 0684806177A comprehensive, multidisciplinary, 6-volume encyclopedia covering not only east Asia but also the Caucasus and Siberia, from 1850 to the present.
Encyclopedia of the Middle Ages by Call Number: 1st Floor D114 .E53 2000ISBN: 1579582826Publication Date: 2001-04-01First Published in 2001. Routledge is an imprint of Taylor & Francis, an informa company.
Chronologies
American Decades by Call Number: Reference E169.12 .A419Each volume covers a specific decade of the 20th Century, documenting fashions, major events, and cultural concerns.
American Eras by Call Number: Reference E169.1 .A471979An excellent guide to events, lifestyles, social history and key figures from periods of American history from pre-Colonial times to 1899.
The Timetables of History by Call Number: General D11.G78 1991A timetable tracing year-by-year developments in many facets of human history.
Chronology of World History by Call Number: D11 .M39 1999ISBN: 1576071553Publication Date: 1999-05-01A detailed timeline of world events listed categorically by year. This book is also available online.
Ask a Librarian Chat
You must have JavaScript enabled to use this chat service.