Olin Library Research Guides: Environmental Studies: Databases

General Databases

While not specific to the sciences, these databases can be good starting points for research papers. They represent a wide variety of material and can assist with everything from giving a general introduction to a topic to providing scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. They can also be good sources for non major courses.

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation indexes for sciences, the arts and humanities, and MEDLINE from 1950 to the present. Also includes Journal Citation Reports (see box below) to assess journal rankings and impact factor.
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Full text for more than 4,500 journals. Contains scholarly and non-scholarly literature in a wide range of disciplines.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Source for scientific, technical, and medical research.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.

Center for Research Libraries
The Center for Research Libraries acquires and preserves newspapers, journals, documents, archives, and other traditional and digital resources from a global network of sources.

Environmental Studies Databases

These databases are specific to environmental studies or at least to the sciences in general. Here you will find popular articles as well as scholarly, peer-reviewed publications on a wide range of topics in environmental studies and other scientific disciplines.

GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers articles examining human impact on the environment. with indexing, abstracts, and some Open Access full text.
JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new window
Collects global plants content, tools, and people interested in biological and plant science.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
ScienceDirect is a collection of full-text e-journals published by Elsevier, covering health & life sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
PubMed This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
It is a valuable life sciences database.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Provides access to citation indexes for sciences, the arts and humanities, and MEDLINE from 1950 to the present. Also includes Journal Citation Reports (see box below) to assess journal rankings and impact factor.