Some audio and visual resources that you may use freely for academic study.
Chicago Style of Citation for academic papers.
Florida Map Collection -- "an ongoing cooperative project of the State of Florida's public universities to digitize and provide online access to maps of contemporary and historic Florida, dating from 1564 through the present. The majority of maps in this collection document historic Florida (1564-1926), illustrating territories of the Spanish, French, English, and United States in Florida, as well as, coastal Alabama, Mississippi, Louisiana, and Georgia and other southeastern states."
"contains approximately 6,000 historic and contemporary Florida maps that support all subject areas in the K-12 classroom. A friendly license allows teachers and students to use up to 25 maps in non-commercial school projects without further permission."
provides a searchable database to identify maps of Florida dating from the early 1500s to 1926. "You can search this database for cartographers, major place names (e.g., Pensacola, Tampa Bay, Key West) and other keywords. You can also limit your search with a date range."
illustrate the development of more than 130 Florida cities
provides access to digitized maps of Florida locations from the U.S. Congressional Serial Set.
provides access to digitized soil maps for 19 Florida counties, 1903-1921.
Publication of Archival, Library & Museum Materials (PALMM) -- "a cooperative initiative of the public universities of Florida to provide digital access to important source materials for research and scholarship."
While federal sources will be your chief governmental sources, state sources are also useful. State libraries are a great source of state-level sources for most states.
Since we are in Florida, this guide will focus on Florida sources. Please ask Blake if you have any questions about state-level resources from Florida or any other state.
Primary sources are original sources created at the time an event occurs and are directly associated with their producer (or user). They serve as the raw materials researchers use to analyze and interpret the past.
Examples include: Diaries, Letters, Newspapers, Government Documents, Photographs, Novels, Interviews, Speeches, and Clothing. This is just a sampling of what can be considered a primary source.
Florida State and County Census Quickfacts
From the U.S. Census Bureau. You can search for statistics by county or city.
Now known as BMI, this resource provides users with macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, and more. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.