What are these sources?
Reference works are a great way to get an introduction to a subject.
Academic Videos Online
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos. With over 26,000 titles and counting, Films on Demand includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries and A-list performances spanning the arts.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed.
Popular Culture Studies
- Life Magazine Archive
Full-color, cover-to-cover coverage of the photojournalism magazine from its first issue in November 1936 through December 2000.
- Time Magazine Archive
Full-color, cover-to-cover coverage of the magazine from its first issue in March 1923 through December 2000.
- National Geographic Magazine Archive
Comprehensive, timely articles and legendary photos documenting life on our planet any beyond. The National Geographic Archive offers full-color and full-text coverage of each issue of the magazine from 1888-current.
Encyclopedias of Environmental Studies
Worldmark Encyclopedia of U.S. and Canadian Environmental Issues by ISBN: 1414490895Publication Date: 2012-06-01
Encyclopedia of Paleoclimatology and Ancient Environments by ISBN: 9781402045516Publication Date: 2008-10-31
The Environment A to Z by Call Number: GE10 .H67 2001ISBN: 1568025831Publication Date: 2000-11-13
Companion Encyclopedia of Geography by Call Number: G116 .C645 1996ISBN: 0415245826Publication Date: 1996-01-01
Ecology and Environment by Call Number: QH541 .M565 1995ISBN: 0195211405Publication Date: 1995-11-30
Your Librarian
Call Numbers
Specific call numbers for books are found in the online catalog, but when browsing the shelves, it helps to know something about them.
The broad topics indicated by the first letter of the "call number" are often broken down into subtopics with a second letter, and are then refined in much greater detail with the addition of numbers. A full listing of Library of Congress call numbers can be found here: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
The digits in these call numbers are read as counting numbers, not as decimals as in the Dewey Decimal system. This means that DL 1175 is found between DL 1174 and DL 1179, well after DL 117 or DL 118.
This arrangement of books by subject matter makes shelf-browsing convenient. If you find a useful book, the books nearby on the shelf are likely to be closely related in topic.