Olin Library Research Guides: Education: EDU 512 Teaching and Learning in Diverse Elementary Schools

Course Documents

Assignment: Literature Review

Literature Review

Purpose

To investigate an educational question that has relevance and meaning for the student’s professional development.

Method

Students will organize and complete a written review of the research of no less than ten research sources (articles, books, monographs, etc.) that relate to the question they have chosen and share their findings with the class during a 10 minute PowerPoint presentation.

Procedure

Approval of question to be investigated

Organize research literature

Share Findings, submit paper

Outcomes

10 minute PowerPoint presentation

Research paper (8 pages, not including reference page, title page, etc.)

Organization of Work

The paper will include a title page and be organized into subsections to be determined by the student based on the research literature obtained. The paper will include an introductory paragraph, a concluding paragraph or page, and a set of references in APA style. Students are encouraged to use subheadings to help with the organization of their information. Please refer to the APA manual in the library or online for guidelines for footnotes and citations.

Search the Olin Library

Advanced Search

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search™ Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline, including humanities and social sciences.

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
Teacher Reference Center This link opens in a new window
Teacher Reference Center provides indexing and abstracts for 280 of the most popular teacher and administrator journals and magazines to assist professional educators.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Access contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.

Why write a literature review?

The literature review is designed to do several things:

Discover what is known (or not known) about a topic or research question.
Determine the current status of the research on a topic or research question.
Situate your topic or research question into the context of related research and information.
Provide an understanding of the methodologies used in researching related questions.
Identify areas for further study.

Content courtesy of CalyPoly University Library http://libguides.calpoly.edu/graduatestudent