Olin Library Research Guides: Education: IMW Global Education of Immigrants, Migrants, and Indigenous Peoples

Assignment

Written Essay and Poster

You will investigate the educational and social issues related to the lives of immigrants in a case study nation.To do so, you will choose 1 of the 7 nations we studied from the book Children in Immigrant Families in 8 Affluent Countries. Then you will focus your research on a particular immigrant group in that country.

Process

(1) Determine an immigrant group and a nation of interest to you.

(2) Here are some questions to which you should respond.

What the demographic data about this immigrant group?
What are some perplexing socio-economic issues associated with this immigrant goup?
What are the data about family background, language usage, and work patterns of the group?
What do students from this immigrant group experience in their formal schooling?
What policies and practices have been developed in the society to help the immigrant group adapt to life there?
What sorts of identity issues might be important to consider?
What might we learn from the educational experiences of this group, and from the society's forms of adapting to the immigrant group, that could be valuable to educators here in the USA?

(3) Include information from at least one website for a school or social organization in your case study country, which is related to the education of immigrants.

(4) Find and summarize infromation about the subject from the www (only reputable published materials), books and journals. You may also include an interview with someone in that group and country, if that is possible.

Expectations

The minimum length is 7 pages, typed and double-spaced. It is to be succinct and carefully organized, and ought to offer specific examples from the sources to support points you make, in relation to the questions you ask. You need to show clarity of thought along with an ability to express yourself. There must be a summary that synthesizes your responses to the key questions. I will consult with anyone, at any time in the process.

The paper will incorporate at least 7 sources, and it may include interview summaries. You will also create a poster of what you have learned.

First draft

Poster Presentation

Second draft (worth 35% of your grade)

Databases

Academic Search Ultimate
Academic Search™ Ultimate offers access to resources cited in key subject indexes. The combination of academic journals, magazines, periodicals, reports, books and videos meets the needs of scholars in virtually every discipline, including humanities and social sciences.
ProQuest Research Library

ERIC This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
ERIC is an easy-to-use, searchable, Internet-based bibliographic and full-text database of education research and information. It is sponsored by the Institute of Education Sciences within the U.S. Department of Education.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
This database is the world’s most comprehensive sociology research database, encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.