Rollins Digital Archives
Rollins Digital Archives are designed to enhance public awareness of and broaden users' access to the unique historical materials in the Olin Library, while promoting the use of primary sources and supporting teaching and learning at Rollins and in local communities. The project currently has the following collections:
- Faces of Rollins
- Hamilton Holt
- Pathway to Diversity
- Rollins Architecture and Landscape
- Student Lives at Rollins
- Treasures at Rollins Archives
- Winter Park and Florida
Through thousands of historical images and textual records, Rollins' liberal arts heritage and its tradition of excellence, innovation and community are vividly represented.
Online Resources
Rollins Scholarship Online (RSO) is the College’s institutional repository, a platform for collecting, describing, organizing, and sharing works that document the scholarly, creative, and professional activities of Rollins College.
Hamilton Holt (1872-1951), eighth president of the College, coined the term Golden Personalities: "men and women of learning whose sole love was teaching, who enjoyed associating with young people, individuals with noble characters." To honor Holt, this project documents the lives of leading citizens of both Rollins College and the City of Winter Park.
This collection includes reflections and reminiscences of selected faculty, alumni, staff, and administrators who have served the College for a significant number of years or made noteworthy contributions during their tenure at Rollins.
Rollins Web Archives documents the historic web presence of the College to ensure that an accurate record of College operations, activities, and communications is preserved and accessible well into the future.
Chicago Style Citation Guide
Chicago Style of Citation for academic papers.
College Publications
The magazine was established in 1917 as The Rollins Alumni Record, with its first edition printed the following year. Then, in 2009, the publication changed its title to Rollins Magazine.
Published since 1894, The Sandspur is the student newspaper of Rollins College. Issues from December 1894 to April 2014 have been digitized and are accessible through Central Florida Memory.
Published from 1917 to 2007, the Tomokan was Rollins’ college yearbook. The complete run has been digitized, and is available through Rollins Scholarship Online. Years 1931 to 2007 are also accessible through the Internet Archive.
Including the College of Liberal Arts (College of Arts & Sciences), Crummer Graduate School of Business, Hamilton School, and Brevard Campus catalogs over years.
- Orlando Sentinel: ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new window
Provides genealogists, researchers and scholars with online, easily-searchable first-hand accounts and unparalleled coverage of the politics, society and events of the time.
Books about Rollins
Rollins College Centennial History: A Story of Perseverance, 1885-1985. Jack Lane. Winter Park, FL: Story Farm, 2017. LD4721.R72 L36
- Chapter 01: The Founding, 1885
- Chapter 02: From Convocation to Crisis, 1885-1893
- Chapter 03: The Struggle for Survival (Hopes and Frustrations), 1892-1903
- Chapter 04: The Search for Stability, 1903-1923
- Chapter 05: The Early Holt Years (An Era of Reform), 1925-1932
- Chapter 06: A College in Crisis (The Rice Affair), 1933
- Chapter 07: The Later Holt Years (Depression and War), 1932-1949
- Chapter 08: A Legacy of the Holt Era (The Wagner Affair), 1949-1952
- Chapter 09: The McKean Era (Restoring the Holt Legacy), 1951-1968
- Chapter 10: To the Centennial, 1978-1985
Rollins College: A Pictorial History. Jack Lane. Winter Park, FL: Rollins College, 1980. LD4721 .R72 1980
Compiled and edited by Jack C. Lane, the book covers the college history from the late 19th century when the college was founded until the late 1970s, including Part I: Founding a Liberal Arts College on the Southern Frontier; Part II: The Holt Era: Building a Liberal Arts College; Part III: After Holt: Establishing Quality in an Era of Growth; and Part IV: Rollins: A Contemporary View.
Rollins After Dark: The Hamilton Holt School's Nontraditional Journeys. Randy Noles. Winter Park, FL: Story Farm, 2019.
Rollins Architecture: A Profile of Current and Historical Buildings. Wenxian Zhang, Eneido Bano and Charles Stevens. Olin Library, Rollins College 2009.
Other notable items include:
- The Historical Development of Rollins' Mission Statement
- An Experiment That Has Proved Itself
- College Life at Rollins: The Spirit of Rollins
- The Rollins College Adventure in Common-Sense Education
- Rollins College on Lake Virginia's Shore
- Rollins Pictorial: Being Random Views of Rollins College and the City of Winter Park
- Rollins Songs
- The Rollins Book of Verse
- Report of the Curriculum Conference Held at Rollins College, January 19-24, 1931
- First Fox Days, 1956-1969
Your Librarian
Working with Primary Sources
Primary sources offer a firsthand account of events, from the perspective of participants or eyewitnesses. They can be found in a variety of formats, including the ones listed on this page.
The following guides are available for citing archival materials consulted for papers, projects, and publications: