Anthropology Resources
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is a comprehensive resource of over 100 years of anthropological research including online, full-text access to 15 peer-reviewed journals published by the American Anthropological Association.
- Review in AnthropologyThe only anthropological journal devoted to lengthy, in-depth review commentary on recently published books.
- Annual Review of AnthropologyComprehensive review of the literature in anthropology. Identifies major tends in the field as well as find general overviews of research in specific subject areas of anthropology.
General Library Research Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Hello from Your Librarians
Welcome to the course research guide for ANT 361: Anthropology and Environment.
Think of this guide as a starting point for finding, evaluating, and citing resources. This guide will be helpful when preparing for your Final Research Paper, but it will also help you discover and assess sources for your future classes.
If you have any questions or comments, please contact Wenxian Zhang, library liaison to Anthropology, and Rene Tanner, Science Librarian at Olin Library.
Environmental Studies: General Science Databases
These databases are specific to environmental studies or at least to the sciences in general. Here you will find popular articles as well as scholarly, peer-reviewed publications on a wide range of topics in environmental studies and other scientific disciplines.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers articles examining human impact on the environment. with indexing, abstracts, and some Open Access full text.
- JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new windowCollects global plants content, tools, and people interested in biological and plant science.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a collection of full-text e-journals published by Elsevier, covering health & life sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to citation indexes for sciences, the arts and humanities, and MEDLINE from 1950 to the present. Also includes Journal Citation Reports (see box below) to assess journal rankings and impact factor.
Environmental Studies: Federal Government Websites
- EPAWebsite of the U.S. Environmental Protection Agency.
- NOAA (National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration)Official website of NOAA.
- NOAA Historical Hurricane TracksNOAA maintains data on the tracks of all recorded hurricane tracks and landfalls going back to the 1850s.
- NOAA Photo LibraryThe NOAA Photo Library was created to capture the work, observations, and studies carried on by NOAA personnel and to attempt to capture NOAA's scientific heritage. To date, over 32,000 images have been digitized and reside in the online NOAA Photo Library. Most of these photos are in the public domain and can be freely reused.
- NSF.govEarth & Environment news from the National Science Foundation.
- Science.govScience.gov searches over 60 databases and over 2200 selected websites from 15 federal agencies, offering 200 million pages of authoritative U.S. government science information including research and development results.
- U.S. Army Corps of EngineersOne of the world's largest public engineering, design, and construction management agencies. Part of the Department of Defense.
- U.S. Fish and Wildlife ServiceUSFWS works to conserve, protect, and enhance fish, wildlife, plants and their habitats. Part of the Department of the Interior.
- USA.govThe U.S. Government's Official Web Portal. You can find and search many government agencies and documents from here.
Your Librarian
Discover Primary Sources
- New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of the New York Times published from September 18, 1851 (its first issue) to 3 years prior to the current year, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements.
- Chicago Defender: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, and legislation. More than two thirds of its readership resided outside of Chicago.