American Cities
For general introduction on the place of your study, you should explore the local Chamber of Commerce websites; and many historical societies will have information on local histories such as early residents, origin, founding and development of a city.
Hello from Your Librarian
Welcome to the course research guide for RFLA100: People, Culture and Environment.
Think of this guide as a one-stop shop for finding, evaluating, and citing resources. This guide will be helpful when preparing for your Final Research Paper, but it will also help you discover and assess sources for your future classes.
If you have any questions or comments, please contact Wenxian Zhang, Your Librarian.
General Library Research Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Environmental Studies Databases
These databases are specific to environmental studies or at least to the sciences in general. Here you will find popular articles as well as scholarly, peer-reviewed publications on a wide range of topics in environmental studies and other scientific disciplines.
- GreenFILE This link opens in a new window
Covers articles examining human impact on the environment. with indexing, abstracts, and some Open Access full text.
- JSTOR Global Plants This link opens in a new windowCollects global plants content, tools, and people interested in biological and plant science.
- ScienceDirect This link opens in a new windowScienceDirect is a collection of full-text e-journals published by Elsevier, covering health & life sciences and social & behavioral sciences.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
- Web of Science This link opens in a new windowProvides access to citation indexes for sciences, the arts and humanities, and MEDLINE from 1950 to the present. Also includes Journal Citation Reports (see box below) to assess journal rankings and impact factor.
Your Librarian
Discover Primary Sources
- New York Times: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1851 - 2021) This link opens in a new window
Contains every issue of the New York Times published from September 18, 1851 (its first issue) to 3 years prior to the current year, including all articles, illustrations, and advertisements.
- Chicago Defender: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, and legislation. More than two thirds of its readership resided outside of Chicago.