Assignment
Major Research Paper:
There is one research paper for the course. This is a major research assignment involving materials other than the course textbooks. The topic of research is each student’s choice; however, it must address contemporary international relations (post-2000); and it must meet the professor’s approval by Week Ten.
Students are encouraged to suggest topics and receive feedback on or before November 1. Because this is a research assignment, students must refer to other books, journals, magazines, websites, etc. The number of references cited in the paper should be more than six, but the total sources reviewed for research should be greater than ten. When citing sources for quotation or general information, it is okay to use footnotes, endnotes, or the MLA citation method, yet stick to one only.
Regardless of the citation method, a bibliography should also be attached to the paper, including all sources reviewed but not cited. No title page is necessary.
The semester research paper is expected to be at least eight double-spaced pages. It is due by 12 midnight on Tuesday, November 30. Please use one inch margins with standard font set at 11 or 12 point. Guidelines for the paper will be posted on Canvas. Leave plenty of time to spell check and proofread! If you leave many simple errors in your paper, this will detract from your grade. You will submit the paper on Canvas. Late papers will be given a deduction at the rate of one-half letter grade each day. If a paper is late due to a documented health or family emergency, late penalties are waived.
Popular/Scholarly/Policy
Popular Articles (Newspapers & Magazines)
- Are often written by journalists or professional writers for a general audience
- Use language easily understood by general readers
- Rarely give full citations for sources
- Written for the general public
- Tend to be shorter than journal articles
Using the description provided above, each group will evaluate an article below.
Questions to consider: Who is the author? What information is provided about the author? What is the purpose of the article? Are there citations?
Scholarly Articles (Journals)
- Are written by and for faculty, researchers or scholars (chemists, historians, doctors, artists, etc.)
- Uses scholarly or technical language
- Tend to be longer articles about research
- Include full citations for sources
- Are often refereed or peer reviewed (articles are reviewed by an editor and other specialists before being accepted for publication)
- Book reviews and editorials are not considered scholarly articles, even when found in scholarly journals
Policy Articles
- Articles authored by organizations whose work focuses on specific topics, regions or a combination of the two.
- Written for an audience interested or educated in the subject
- Written by analysts whose work specializes on the topic
- Vary in length but often provide a strategic direction, stimulate a debate or broker ideas
Find Anything
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
Specialized Databases
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- Worldwide Political Science Abstracts This link opens in a new window
Provides citations, abstracts, and indexing of international serials literature in political science and similar fields, including international relations, law, and public policy. WPSA also indexes books, book chapters, reviews, and dissertations.
- Columbia International Affairs Online This link opens in a new window
Includes the full text of papers and briefs and some access to journal articles, books, foundation-funded research projects, and proceedings from conferences.
- Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on thousands of topics from a wide variety of sources.
- Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Useful websites
- Find PolicyFind Policy is the fastest way to find policy options. We target your search to leading policy research organizations.
- United States Institute for PeaceThe United States Institute of Peace is a national, nonpartisan, independent institute, founded by Congress and dedicated to the proposition that a world without violent conflict is possible, practical and essential for U.S. and global security. In conflict zones abroad, the Institute works with local partners to prevent, mitigate, and resolve violent conflict. To reduce future crises and the need for costly interventions, USIP works with governments and civil societies to build local capacities to manage conflict peacefully. The Institute pursues its mission by linking research, policy, training, analysis and direct action to support those who are working to build a more peaceful, inclusive world.
- Freedom HouseFreedom House is the oldest American organization devoted to the support and defense of democracy around the world. It was formally established in New York in 1941 to promote American involvement in World War II and the fight against fascism.
- AMERICAN FOREIGN POLICY COUNCILAFPC is widely recognized as a source of timely, insightful analysis on issues of foreign policy, and works closely with members of Congress, the Executive Branch and the policymaking community. It is staffed by noted specialists in foreign and defense policy, and serves as a valuable resource to officials in the highest levels of government.
- Council on Foreign Relations (CFR)The Council on Foreign Relations (CFR) is an independent, nonpartisan membership organization, think tank, and publisher dedicated to being a resource for its members, government officials, business executives, journalists, educators and students, civic and religious leaders, and other interested citizens in order to help them better understand the world and the foreign policy choices facing the United States and other countries. Founded in 1921, CFR takes no institutional positions on matters of policy. Our goal is to start a conversation in this country about the need for Americans to better understand the world.
Head of Collections
Book a consultation
- Book a ConsultationYou can schedule a research or writing consultation via this page.
Citation Help
- OWL ExcelsiorThe Excelsior OWL is meant to provide students with a unique, warm, and engaging experience as they learn more about writing for college.
Evaluation
- Class EvaluationPlease complete this evaluation of the instruction provided by the librarian.
Thank you.