Olin Library Research Guides: International Affairs: Find Reference Resources

Print Reference Books

These books are available in the General Collection of the library. This is just a selection of the very varied political reference works we have available, so go and browse around and see what you find, or ask a librarian.

The Encyclopedia of Politics: the Left and the Right by Rodney P. Carlisle
Call Number: JA61 .E54 2005
ISBN: 1412904099
Confused about what constitutes the right and left in politics? Blame the French Revolution. Buut once you have done that, consult this set of two volmes -- one left, one right.
Encyclopedia of U.S. Labor and Working-Class History by Eric Arnesen
Call Number: HD 8066 .A78 2006
ISBN: 9780415968263
Multi-volume encyclopedia of labor history. It is not just about the political working class, but includes a lot of great information on trade unions and political action.
Historic Documents by Andrew Boney
Call Number: E839.5 .H57
ISBN: 9781604265538
It is a great source of primary documents etc of politics -- speeches etc.
The International Encyclopedia of Revolution and Protest by Immanuel Ness
Call Number: JC491 .I58 2009
ISBN: 9781405184649
Multi volume set covers from 1500 to the present. If you want to why the Intifada or the Abalone Alliance matter, or not. This set will tell you.
Political Handbook of the World by Arthur S. Banks
Call Number: JF37 .P6 2012
ISBN: 9780872895591
One stop source for the essential political facts about countries, territories, and their politicians.
Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy by Edward Craig
Call Number: B51 .R68 1998
ISBN: 0415073103
A superb source of all things philosophical, including political philosophy and philosophers. Each entry has a introduction for novices, a detailed entry, and a critical bibliography.

General Research Databases

AM Research Skills This link opens in a new window
Includes nearly 200 hundred essays, videos, "How to" guides and case studies by subject specialists which answer questions about working with primary sources. Materials provide guidance on where to find historical documents, and how to best to approach analyzing the content they hold.
Gale eBooks This link opens in a new window
Explore this database of encyclopedias and reference sources within the Gale eBooks platform. For multidisciplinary research.
Oxford Reference Library This link opens in a new window
Oxford Reference includes in-depth, specialized titles across Oxford University Press’s Dictionaries, Companions and Encyclopedias, spanning 25 different subject areas with a collection of 2 million digitized entries.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.

Research Tip

You might notice that the print books highlighted here each have a call number that starts with a different letter. The way that the library is organized, books will be in different areas based on the main subject of the book. Books about Mexico will be in the F section, whereas books about Sri Lanka are shelved under DS. Both of these sections can be found on the 1st floor of the Olin Library. Books that address international relations in general have a call number that begins with JZ. These are located on the 3rd floor of the Olin Library; turn left once you exit the elevator and look for the JZ's on the book spines. You can also use the labels on the end caps to help you know which letters you are up to.

Call Number Starts With	Topics Covered
D	World History
E	History of the Americas, specifically the United States
F	History of the Americas, including United States local history, Canada, Latin America, and South America
J	Political Science
JZ	International Relations