First Time Users
FAQ
Find Books
Olin Library has a strong collection of international affairs books, both in print and electronically (eBooks).
Every print book in the library is assigned a call number. This is a series of letters and numbers that help us know where to shelve a book. These can typically be found on the spine of a book, although sometimes they are on the cover if the spine is too thin. The call numbers will all start with one or two letters, these relate to the broad subject of the book. The numbers help us narrow down the topic. At the bottom of this page you'll find a table to help you navigate print books about international affairs. If you need help finding a book on the shelf, stop by the Circulation Desk on the 2nd (main) floor and someone will be happy to go with you.
Use the links in the Find More Books section to find more print and eBooks on topics related to international affairs.
Looking for Reference Resources? Use the link under the Find Books tab at the top to learn more about these valuable research tools.
Selection of International Affairs Books
Jewish-Ukrainian Relations and the Birth of a Political Nation by
This is a selection of essays and dispatches from a veteran observer of the development of Ukrainian culture and politics over the course of a decade. The volume deals with the issue of Ukrainian-Jewish relations and its historical legacy in the context of a Russian invasion of Ukraine. It charts the events that took place in Ukraine after the 2013-2014 Euromaidan Revolution and focuses on the place of Ukrainian Jewry within a quickly developing Ukrainian political nation.
Call Number: Online accessISBN: 9783838215099Publication Date: 2023-11-28
The Oxford handbook of political theory by
Long recognized as one of the main branches of political science, political theory has in recent years burgeoned in many different directions. Close textual analysis of historical texts sits alongside more analytical work on the nature and normative grounds of political values. Continental and post-modern influences jostle with ones from economics, history, sociology, and the law. Feminist concerns with embodiment make us look at old problems in new ways, and challenges of new technologies open whole new vistas for political theory. This Handbook provides comprehensive and critical coverage of the lively and contested field of political theory, and will help set the agenda for the field for years to come. Forty-five chapters by distinguished political theorists look at the state of the field, where it has been in the recent past, and where it is likely to go in future. They examine political theory's edges as well as its core, the globalizing context of the field, and the challenges presented by social, economic, and technological changes.
Call Number: JA71 .O95 2008ISBN: 9780199548439
Power and Responsibility in World Affairs by
This volume presents the idea that great power carries with it great moral obligation to reform the international system. It is centrally concerned with the nature and operation of international moral norms. It shows that great secular power correlates to an increased moral responsibility for the just conduct of the world. This work also emphasizes the often overlooked fact that important normative constraints on power exist already, so that even Great powers must act with a degree of restraint and prudence. Highlights a timely debate about the goals and ambitions of liberal Great Powers, no longer constrained from intervention by the balance of terror of the Cold War. Features cross-cultural issues, essays, and contributors from Europe, North America, and Asia. Arguments are concerned with pragmatic international ethics, not theory, and are written in a clear and concise manner.
Call Number: JZ1306 .P69 2004ISBN: 0275966690Publication Date: 2004-06-30
Book Recommendations
Do you know of a book that we should consider adding to our collection? Are there specific topics you're researching that we don't have enough information on? Fill out our Library Purchase Recommendation Form and we'll consider your suggestion!
Find More Books
These links will take you to search results for books available from the Olin Library, either in print or online (eBooks).
- WorldCatSearch for books beyond Olin's collection. Once you find one you like, submit an Interlibary Loan (ILL) request.
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Found a book, not in our collection? Not a problem. You can easily request it from another library. Have as much of the book information as possible, then log in with your FoxID and Password
Rollins Interlibrary Loan
Login with your FoxID and Password
Research Tip
You might notice that the print books highlighted here each have a call number that starts with a different letter. The way that the library is organized, books will be in different areas based on the main subject of the book. Books about Mexico will be in the F section, whereas books about Sri Lanka are shelved under DS. Both of these sections can be found on the 1st floor of the Olin Library. Books that address international relations in general have a call number that begins with JZ. These are located on the 3rd floor of the Olin Library; turn left once you exit the elevator and look for the JZ's on the book spines. You can also use the labels on the end caps to help you know which letters you are up to.
| Call Number Starts With | Topics Covered |
| D | World History |
| E | History of the Americas, specifically the United States |
| F | History of the Americas, including United States local history, Canada, Latin America, and South America |
| J | Political Science |
| JZ | International Relations |
Contact Info
Need Research Support?
- Book a consultation with Your Librarian
- Schedule an appointment with the Tutoring & Writing Center
- Search the library FAQ
Contact Us
Your Librarians here at Olin Library are ready to assist and guide you on your research journey.
- Call us at (407) 646-2521
- Text us at (407) 874-5909
- Email us at askolinlibrary@rollins.edu