SOC 195 - Dr. Jenoch - Sociology - Olin Library Research Guides at Rollins College

Film information

IMDb
IMDb is an online database of information related to films, television series, home videos, video games, and streaming content online – including cast, production crew and personal biographies, plot summaries, trivia, ratings, and fan and critical reviews.
Rotten Tomatoes
Rotten Tomatoes is an American review-aggregation website for film and television. The company was launched in August 1998 by three undergraduate students at the University of California, Berkeley: Senh Duong, Patrick Y. Lee, and Stephen Wang.

Streaming Films

Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos. With over 26,000 titles and counting, Films on Demand includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries and A-list performances spanning the arts.
Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.

Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed.
Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new window
Swank Digital Campus provides the Rollins community with a legal streaming resource on and off campus, for a limited number of films. Public performance rights are not included.

News

New York Times This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create/renew an account. Once your account is set up, you can login in to access the full online content in the upper right for a year until it expires. Access is unlimited full-text from 1851-1923 and from 1981-present, with limited access from 1923-1980; the search button is at the upper left of the page.
Washington Post This link opens in a new window
Learn how to create an account. The Washington Post is a major American daily newspaper published in Washington, D.C. Daily broadsheet editions are printed for the District of Columbia, Maryland, and Virginia. The newspaper has won 47 Pulitzer Prizes.

Selected Journals

Entertainment Weekly
Weekly information on the entertainment industry featuring television programming, motion pictures, videos, new albums, entertainment for children and book reviews. NOTE Only available up through 2022.
Hollywood Reporter
Presents news articles and features for and about the motion picture industry and the Los Angeles/Hollywood area.
Variety
Variety began in 1905 as a weekly show business trade paper, covering vaudeville, stage, and film. It went on to feature news on television, aspects of new media, and to a lesser extent music.

Want to find more journals? Use the Find a Journal link below to search for more.

Find a Journal
If you already know the title or ISSN of the journal that you want to search, you can use this link to explore the Olin Library's Journal Collection.

Selected Databases

Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new window
SocINDEX with Full Text features more than 2.1 million records with subject headings from a 20,000+ term sociological thesaurus designed by subject experts and expert lexicographers. Access contains full text for more than 860 journals dating back to 1908, 830 books and monographs, and over 16,800 conference papers.

Interlibrary Loan (ILL)

Find a book or article that's perfect for your paper but the Olin Library doesn't have access to it? Use the ILL Login box below to request that we borrow the item from another library. Keep in mind, for articles this can take 2-3 business days, but for books, it can take 2-3 weeks.