Find Databases
You can use databases to help you find scholarly, peer-reviewed articles. The ones in specialized databases section contain a lot of sociology materials, but don't ignore the databases in the multidisciplinary section below. Sociology materials are scattered throughout our databases and you will find good information in any of these resources.
Specialized Databases
-
Everyday Life & Women in America, c. 1800-1920 This link opens in a new window
Showcases unique primary source material for the study of American social, cultural, and popular history in the 19th and early 20th centuries.
-
Independent Voices This link opens in a new window
A digital archive of alternative press publications (1960s–1980s) by feminists, activists, and marginalized groups, including BIPOC, LGBTQ, and anti-war movements.
-
Race Relations in America This link opens in a new window
Provides access to a wide range of primary sources, scholarly articles, reports, and historical documents related to race, ethnicity, and social justice in the United States.
-
SocINDEX with Full Text This link opens in a new windowThis database is the world’s most comprehensive sociology research database, encompassing the broad spectrum of sociological study.
-
Southern Negro Youth Congress and the Communist Party This link opens in a new window
Gain access to rare primary source documents with these topically focused digital collections for academic research support.
-
Women and Social Movements in the United States, 1600-2000Collection of primary documents, books, images, scholarly essays, book reviews, Web site reviews, and teaching tools.
-
ScienceDirect Social SciencesCollection of e-journals and ebooks in the social sciences.
-
Social Sciences Citation Index (Web of Science/Web of Knowledge)Database of articles in the social sciences. A good source for identifying where sources have been cited. (Also check Google Scholar.)
This box contains just a few of our Sociology Databases. Use the link below to access more.
Sociology Journals
Here are some Sociology journals that we have access to through the Olin Library.
Find more journals using the links below.
-
Sociology Journals on BrowZineUse this link to browse journals, magazines, or newspapers that relate to the discipline of sociology.
-
Find Journals, Magazines, or NewspapersUse this link if you already know the title or ISSN of the publication you are searching for.
Journal Recommendations
Is there a journal, newspaper, or magazine that we're not currently subscribing to that could help you with your research? Let us know! Fill out the Journal Recommendation Form and we'll consider your suggestion.
Multidisciplinary Databases
These databases provide access to a wide variety of content covering a multitude of topics. Each database contains different information and is an excellent place to start your research process. If you are off campus, you will need to log in with your FoxID in order to access these resources.
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides collections of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
Use the link below to access a complete list of the databases provided by the Olin Library.
-
A-Z Database ListA complete list of all of the databases offered by the Olin Library. You can use the filters at the top of the list to limit by subject or type.
Research Tip
LibKey Nomad is a browser extension that will help you identify articles that are available through Rollins College even if you're searching the internet in general, and not the Olin Library website specifically. Add it to your browser of choice for free today to be more efficient at accessing the resources you need in order to succeed.
Find It!
What is this?
It is a link resolver service that improves database searching at Rollins. This link appears if one of our databases does not contain the full text. The full text of the article may be available in another one of our resources, the button creates a link from the citation to the full article.
This service also works with searches in Google Scholar.
Your Librarian
Need Research Support?
- Schedule a research appointment with Your Librarian
- Schedule an appointment with the Tutoring & Writing Center
- Search the library FAQ
Contact Us
Your Librarians here at Olin Library are ready to assist and guide you on your research journey.
- Call us at 407-646-2521
- Text us at 407-874-5909
- Email us at askolinlibrary@rollins.edu