rFLA 300 - Robinson - Sociology - Olin Library Research Guides at Rollins College

Assignment

Final project:
1. A public facing website that includes text to explain and contextualize the problem/issue for a lay audience, and description of a minimum of 12 sources (per person) of various kinds that would be useful to people interested in learning more. Sources will be accompanied by an introductory paragraph and your annotation/description, of at least one paragraph per source. These annotations should give a brief summary and indication of the importance/uses of each source. They should also be presented in a specific order to create a logic flow of information on the topic.

The Sources
As we will see in the examples online, a range of sources creates the most possibility of engagement for the public. Since this is an academic course, I expect that at least half of the 12 sources (so 6 total) will be of a scholarly (not popular) nature. You may use up to two of the course readings as your sources. The remaining sources may include popular sources, including journalism, artistic expression, videos (not more than two), links to other websites, podcasts, etc.

Submit initial source list of 10-12 sources on Canvas
Source list should include bibliographic citations for each source – with the reference formatted for the appropriate type of resources (APA, MLA, Chicago author-date, or ASA style preferred). Use the internet (or ask your professor or librarian) if you need help formatting a particular source.

Public Syllabi Assignment

Public Syllabi Examples

What is Open Access?

Open access refers to content made publicly and legally accessible and freely usable and shareable. This designation takes many forms: research publications- like books, articles, and texts- software, data sets, and even media like video, music, lectures, or art. All of this has great value to education, professors and students alike!

Search the Olin Library

Advanced Search

You can find Open Access materials using "Find It" on the Olin Library website.

Open Access Books

WorldCat
WorldCat.org is a great resource for locating unique, trustworthy materials that you often can’t find anywhere except in a library. And by connecting thousands of libraries’ collections in one place, WorldCat.org makes it easy for you to browse the world’s libraries from one easy search box.
Directory of Open Access Books
DOAB is a community-driven discovery service that indexes and provides access to scholarly, peer-reviewed open access books and helps users to find trusted open access book publishers. All DOAB services are free of charge and all data is freely available.
Open Research Library
The Open Research Library shall serve as a vital infrastructure for the needs of the scholarly community amongst others, promoting Open Access to scholarly works. With the support of libraries and research institutions worldwide, the Open Research Library will be able to develop its infrastructure benefitting everyone.
Lever Press
Lever Press is a scholarly press supported by more than 50 liberal arts institutions. We publish peer-reviewed, born digital, open access monographs at no cost to our authors or their academic institutions.

Open Access Journals

Directory of Open Access Journals
DOAJ (Directory of Open Access Journals) was launched in 2003 with 300 open access journals. Today, this independent index contains almost 17 500 peer-reviewed, open access journals covering all areas of science, technology, medicine, social sciences, arts and humanities. Open access journals from all countries and in all languages are accepted for indexing.
Europeana
Europeana is funded by the European Union, which is building the open, trusted source for European cultural content and aims to aggregate and provide access to the digitised collections of museums, libraries, archives and galleries across Europe.

Creative Commons Images

Creative Commons
Creative Commons is an American non-profit organization and international network devoted to educational access and expanding the range of creative works available for others to build upon legally and to share.
Wikimedia Commons
Wikimedia Commons is a media file repository making available public domain and freely licensed educational media content (images, sound and video clips) to everyone, in their own language. It acts as a common repository for the various projects of the Wikimedia Foundation, but you do not need to belong to one of those projects to use media hosted here. The repository is created and maintained not by paid archivists, but by volunteers.
OpenClipArt
In addition to locating images through the Creative Commons Search, Google Images, and Flickr, this site provides access to tens of thousands of images that are free to use under a Creative Commons Public Domain license.