Olin Library Research Guides: Business: Industries

Key Industry Resources

IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
--Industry reports: Comprehensive research reports on a huge range of U.S. industries and services.
--Business Environment Profiles: Concise reports about factors such as exchange rates, commodity prices, etc.
--Risk Ratings: Concise reports for how much risk an industry will face over the next 18 months.
BMI This link opens in a new window
Now known as BMI, this resource provides users with macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, and more. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Business Source Complete has a lot of industry and market research reports. Once you do your initial search, use the left-hand column to narrow the results to Industry Reports or Market Research. The SWOT analysis often have insights into current industry trends.
If you are looking for Harvard Business Review, this is the only database that has it in full-text. Please be aware that a handful of the most popular articles are blocked by HBR from downloading, printing or linking. You will recognize these titles by a thin yellow banner at the top of the screen. This embargo is HBR's policy, and there is no way around it....but please be aware that you CAN read these articles online.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Excellent, comprehensive database with detailed coverage of news and trade journal information on various industries.

Specialized Industry Resources

Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and reports.
Statista This link opens in a new window
To find information by industry, hover over "Statistics," then hover over the sector you want. You can access industry reports by hovering over "Reports" and clicking "Industry Reports." Similarly, you can access Industry Outlooks by hovering over "Outlooks" and clicking "Industry Outlooks."
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes an industry overview and data on future prospects for several hundred large cap stocks and industries. ValueLine is limited to three simultaneous users. Reports are in PDF format and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader software to view.

Additional Resources

data.census.gov
Provides access to a wealth of population, housing, economic and geographic data from the U.S. Census Bureau.
Industries at a Glance (U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics)
"These pages display a ‘snapshot’ of national data obtained from different BLS surveys and programs. Many programs also produce additional industry detail, including state, county, and metropolitan area data."
Key Ratio Benchmarks across Retail Industries
An easy to use resource that provides trends business ratios for 55 retail industries including typical profit margin, inventory turnover, and return on investment. Basic benchmarking stats (such as gross margin, industry turnover, and ROI) for 55 broad retail categories.
NAICS Code Look-up
NAICS codes are classification codes used in database searching and for reporting purposes. Use the top box on the left-column to search by keyword to identify the closet NAICS code for your product or service.
Overview of BLS Statistics by Industry
A variety of statistics from the U.S. Bureau of Labor Statistics from the viewpoint of labor and employment.
ThomasNet
A large database of U.S. supplies across a range of industries. This is a FREE resource, but you will need to create an account before you get very deep into the database (don't worry, its quick and easy!)