Olin Library Research Guides: Business: Getting Started

Welcome!

Welcome to Olin Library's guide on business and social entrepreneurship resources. There are many places you can go for business information, but we've invested in the best resources, so you can succeed in classes, projects, and research. Below are several of our most useful resources for most people's needs.

Best Places to Start

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Extensive collection of articles (scholarly, trade, and business reports) on all aspects of business.
If you are looking for Harvard Business Review, this is the only database that has it in full-text. Please be aware that a handful of the most popular articles are blocked by HBR from downloading, printing or linking. You will recognize these titles by a thin yellow banner at the top of the screen. This embargo is HBR's policy, and there is no way around it....but please be aware that you CAN read these articles online.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and reports.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
Includes research reports on a huge range of industries and services for North America, Europe, and other world regions.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A large collection of statistical data, including some good industry profiles
BMI This link opens in a new window
Now known as BMI, this resource provides users with macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, and more. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.
FactSet This link opens in a new window
FactSet is a multinational financial data and software company that provides financial information and analytic software for investment professionals. Please contact Blake Robinson, Business Librarian, and he will enroll you on your behalf. Please allow up to 24 hours to receive a confirmation e-mail from FactSet.

More Specialized Resources

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Extensive database on all aspects of business. To hone in on news articles and trade journal reports about a particular company, use the search drop-down menu to select "Company" and then add additional search terms on subsequent lines.

ABI/Inform is our only database that contains Business DISSERTATIONS.
Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
SAGE Research Methods is a research methods tool created to help researchers, faculty and students with their research projects. SAGE Research Methods links over 175,000 pages of SAGE’s renowned book, journal and reference content with truly advanced search and discovery tools. Researchers can explore methods concepts to help them design research projects, understand particular methods or identify a new method, conduct their research, and write up their findings. Since SAGE Research Methods focuses on methodology rather than disciplines, it can be used across the social sciences, health sciences, and more.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Provides international marketing and demographic data on countries and consumers in dozens of nations. Access restricted to students, faculty, and staff of Rollins College.
Gale Business: DemographicsNow This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Connect with a wealth of highly detailed demographic data on more than 24 million U.S. businesses and 206 million consumers with a variety of both standard and custom reports to help make informed decisions.
Value Line Research Center This link opens in a new window
Includes an industry overview and data on future prospects for several hundred large cap stocks and industries.
ValueLine is limited to three simultaneous users. Reports are in PDF format and require the Adobe Acrobat Reader software to view.
Gale Business: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Learn how to start, finance, or manage your small business. Includes sample business plans, how to guides, articles, and more.
Gale OneFile: Entrepreneurship This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Analyze business insights, tips, strategies, and success stories. Updated daily. Best for business schools and entrepreneurs.
Gale OneFile: Business This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Understand the activities of companies and industries worldwide through leading business and trade publications. Updated daily.

Business Librarian

Blake Robinson

he/him

Contact:

Olin 238
barobinson@rollins.edu

(407) 646-1533

Subjects: Business, Economics, Human Resources, Social Entrepreneurship