Investigating Journal Prominence & Options
- Cabells This link opens in a new windowA compilation of over 4,500 journals (mostly U.S.-based) in the subject areas of accounting, economics and finance, management, and marketing. Cabell's provides acceptance rates and description of the review process used by journals editors.
- ABDC Journal Quality ListThis list was compiled by the Australian Business Dean's Council and is a key metric for assessing journal prestige and quality.
- SCImago Journal & Country RankAn easy to use database that lets you consider a journal's popularity in various regions of the world. It also provides an estimated impact factor for those journals not indexed by Thompson.
- Directory of Open Access JournalsDOAJ defines open access journals as journals that "use a funding model that does not charge readers or their institutions for access." Everything in this list is peer-reviewed and as reliable as a traditional journal.
- Journal Citation Reports This link opens in a new windowWe subscribe to both the Science and Social Science sections of JCR. To generate a list of journals in the Business area, click the 'select categories' from the left column. Pick your topic (such as Business or Management), close the window then hit "submit" at the bottom of the column. Pick the year you want to examine, and it should generate a list that can be sorted by various criteria. "Impact Factor" is the most common means of assessing a journal's impact.
Who's Citing Me?
To compile a list of citations for your work, you must use multiple resources, because the way information resources track citations is not uniform across different platforms.
One easy way to do this is in Business Source Complete, which can track citations to a particular article (rather than all the citations to your body of work.) Log in and call up your article. If it is at least a few years old, you may see a list of articles contained within Business Source Complete which cited it. Please note, the "Cited References" are the articles from the bibliography. "Times Cited in the Database" is other articles which have referenced your article. This method tends to underestimate the number of times cited, because Business Source Complete may not have access to the full-text of all the articles it indexes, and thus can't compile a complete list of citations.
You can also search for your article in Google Scholar, which will almost always list a much higher number of references. This is because Google Scholar scoops up citations from things like conference papers, book chapters, white papers, powerpoint presentations, or other things not counted by traditional journal citation indexes.
Web of Science: Business journals are included in this index. This is a traditionally prestigious means of gathering citations, but it has its limitations due to the highly selective nature of the journals it indexes.