Olin Library Research Guides: Business: Country Info

Key Country Databases

BMI This link opens in a new window
Now known as BMI, this resource provides users with macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, and more. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.
Statista This link opens in a new window
A statistics portal that integrates data on media, business, finance, politics, and a wide variety of other areas of interest or markets on thousands of topics from a wide variety of sources.
Euromonitor This link opens in a new window
Provides international marketing and demographic data on countries and consumers in dozens of nations. Access restricted to students, faculty, and staff of Rollins College.

Nations of the World
A concise overview of a nation's economy, outlook and risks, current events, political structure, and other basic facts. Great, one-stop shopping for quick info.

Specialized Country Resources

Country Commercial Guides
To get started, select your country from the drop-down box, then hit the right-facing arrow to search.

This is an excellent source from the U.S. Department of Commerce that provides book-length reports on the practical information of how to do business with a particular nation. Topics include tariff information, distribution channels, investment climate, trade regulations, business travel, and leading sectors for U.S. exports.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
This database contains a massive amount of news, research, and trade information on business around the world. If you wish to specify business within a particular country, city, state, or world region, use one of the search drop-down menus and select "Location." Then enter your search terms.
IBISWorld This link opens in a new window
--Comprehensive reports on 75 industries, focusing on major world regions.
--Excellent 30-40 page reports on all major industries in China and Canada.

Major Online Sources

World Bank Data
Provides lots of quick statistics that shed insight into the standard of living across most nations in the world. Statistics include topics such as the percentage of Internet users, foreign direct investment, life expectancy, CO2 emissions, and federal debt. Under the "Topics" tab, there is statistical information on several topics, including infrastructure, effectiveness of aid, science, agriculture, and education.
Country Reports from the International Monetary Fund
The pages for each country have extensive economic reports and links from the IMF.
OECD Data
You can get country-by-country economic data for the 34 members of the Organization for Economic Cooperation and Development. Includes indicators in topics such as agriculture, economy, and jobs.
CIA World Factbook
Concise profiles of the history, people, government, economy, geography, communications, transportation, military, and transnational issues for 266 world entities.

Provides information for the current year only.
Historical Editions of the CIA World Factbook
This page will allow you to get archived editions of the CIA World Factbook if you wish to gather information from 1990 to one year ago.
Global Edge Country Insights
Quick, practical overviews of countries evaluating the business environment
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
These comprehenive profiles cover facts about the land, people, history, government, political conditions, economy, and foreign relations of independant nations.
Investment Climate Statements
These statements are put out by the U.S. Department of State. They summarize the current issues, trends, and economic climate of particular countries as it relates to doing business.
TradeStats
Provides national trade import and export data by volume. You can specify US trade with a particular country or region. Use the "Trade within a Selected Market" to get data about a broad category of trade
United Nations Data
This is a massive collection of free databases from the U.N. You can target a specific dataset, or do a mass search. Types of information available relate to economic development, human rights, energy resouces, commodities, labor, gender issues, and more.
Penn World Tables (for PPP data)
This database will let you gather stats for Purchasing Power Parity (PPP) for 189 countries for the years 1950 to 2007.
Geert Hofstede Cultural Dimensions Database
Interesting data that lets you generate reports on a selected country to measure attitudes towards Risk Avoidance, Individualism, Achievement, Long-Term Orientation, and Power.
Pew Global Attitudes Project
Survey reports from a variety of nations on popular topics.
Country Studies from the Library of Congress
Book-length information on the history, culture, and economy of most countries in the world.
Countries and their Cultures
Each entry describes the customs, attitudes, and heritage of a particular nation. Good for quick generalizations on issues like gender, family, religious, and other cultural factors of a country.
Multicultural America
This website provides general overviews of how immigrant groups have lived and adjusted in the United States. Discusses significant immigration waves, patterns of settlement, acculturation, and traditions.
NationMaster
Huge collection of statistics that lets you compare two nations in terms of health, crime, environment, taxation, transportation, economy, and more than a dozen other criteria.

Hint: You can click on the criteria in the search results to link directly to the source where the information was gathered.