‎ Critical Media and Cultural Studies: Recommended Websites

A great place to go to find speeches, legal proceedings, lectures, debates, interviews and other recorded media events. You can even find audio clips from FDR and other famous presidents.

The Center for Social Media, School of Communication, American University, showcases and analyzes media for public knowledge and action—media made by, for, and with public to address the problems that they share. We pay particular attention to the evolution of documentary film and video in a digital era. With research, public events, and convenings, we explore the fast-changing environment for public media.

IBDB (Internet Broadway Database) archive is the official database for Broadway theatre information. IBDB provides records of productions from the beginnings of New York theatre until today.

If you have ever wondered what other shows your favorite actor was in, the Internet Movie Database is for you. This website is one of the largest interconnected casting database around. Odds are that if you've seen it on TV, you can find it here.

Online historical newspapers in one place, listed by county and city so you could find the newspapers your ancestors read.

Provides research reports exploring the impact of the Internet on families, communities, work and home, daily life, education, health care, and civic and political life. The Project aims to be an authoritative source on the evolution of the Internet through collection of data and analysis of real-world developments as they affect the virtual world.

Find radio stations from across the country...

Browse through over 150 billion web pages archived from 1996 to a few months ago. To start surfing the Wayback, type in the web address of a site or page where you would like to start, and press enter. Then select from the archived dates available. The resulting pages point to other archived pages at as close a date as possible. Keyword searching is not currently supported.