Useful Websites & Streaming Documentary Video
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowAcademic Video Online is the most comprehensive video subscription available to libraries. It delivers more than 64,000 video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more. More than 17,000 titles are exclusive to Alexander Street, all with a predictable annual cost. Curated for the educational experience, the massive depth of content and breadth of content-types (such as documentaries, films, demonstrations, etc) in Academic Video Online makes it a useful resource for all types of patrons, giving libraries a high return on investmen
- Clipland: short form media"Clipland was not invented as a link database for streaming video. We understand ourselves as a textual database with information like director, actors etc. Anyway, to provide a better service we added the watch the video option."
- C-SPAN Video LibraryC-SPAN is a public service created by the American Cable Television Industry. It provides access to the live gavel-to-gavel proceedings of the U.S. House of Representatives and the U.S. Senate, and to other forums where public policy is discussed, debated and decided––all without editing, commentary or analysis and with a balanced presentation of points of view. Open access.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new windowFilms On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos. With over 26,000 titles and counting, Films on Demand includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries and A-list performances spanning the arts.
- Internet ArchiveThe Internet Archive, a 501(c)(3) non-profit, is building a digital library of Internet sites and other cultural artifacts in digital form. Like a paper library, we provide free access to researchers, historians, scholars, and the general public.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new windowProvides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
- Movie ClipsFree access to thousands of legally licensed film clips, searchable by various criteria. Some features require free registration.
- Moving Image ArchiveThe Moving Images Archive is part of the Internet Archive, a non-profit organization formed to build an Internet library for use by researchers, educators and historians. The site features movies from a variety of sources including governmental organizations and educational institutions. By offering almost-unrestricted access to these films, the site hopes it will encourage widespread use of moving images in new contexts by people who might not have used them before
- Wikimedia CommonsThe Wikimedia Commons is a website containing over 6 million media files. You can find audio, video and pictures of any sort. Please pay attention to their copyright notice, but you should be able to use most items without worry.
- YouTubeYouTube offers great examples of user created media. You are able to embed these videos into web pages. Feel free to browse and become inspired!
Your Librarian
Derek Malone
Contact:
Olin 240
dmalone@rollins.edu
dmalone@rollins.edu
(407) 646-2306
Subjects: Communication, Critical Media & Cultural Studies