Culture and Media
The medium is the message. This is merely to say that the personal and social consequences of any medium…result from the new scale that is introduced into our affairs by each extension of ourselves or by any new technology.
Marshall McLuhan (1911 - 1980)
Article Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides collections of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more.
-
Communication and Mass Media CompleteOne of the best places to start your research, this database offers over 40,000 articles on Communications, Mass Communications, Mass Media and everything in between.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
-
ProQuest Research LibraryProQuest Research Library is a full-text, multidisciplinary database of journals, magazines, etc. Coverage is 1971-Present.
-
SocINDEX with Full TextOur main sociology database, this includes lots of articles that are relevant to CMC.
News Databases
-
Access World NewsFind global information on topics related to business, communication, education, environmental studies, health, international studies, performing and fine arts, political science, religion, social issues and more from a variety of news media featuring newspapers, videos, images and web-only content including the Orlando Sentinel, Miami Herald, USA Today and international sources.
-
African American Newspapers Series 1: 1827-1998This collection includes access to a wealth of U.S. newspapers that chronicle a century and a half of the African American experience. Includes many rare and historically significant newspapers related to cultural, literary, ethnic, and social history.
-
Historical Newspaper Collections (ProQuest)Searches both the Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and the Historical New York Times (1851-2012).
-
Independent VoicesIndependent Voices is a digital collection of alternative press newspapers, magazines and journals, drawn from the special collections of participating libraries. Open access.
-
Nineteenth Century U.S. NewspapersProvides full-text access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the Civil War, African-American culture and history, and Western migration, among others.
-
Times of London Digital ArchiveThis archive contains the full text of the Times of London from 1785-1985.
