Olin Library Research Guides: Business: CAP 601: Essentials of Project Execution -- NASA

Electric Cars

Today we are going to research electric cars using three research methods: consumer, financial/industry, and intellectual property research. When doing business research, it is helpful to use several different methods to ensure you get as much relevant information as you can.

Today We Are Using...

Statista This link opens in a new window
Provides access to quantitative facts by market sector. Statista is a statistics portal that integrates thousands of diverse topics of data and facts from a wide range of sources onto a single platform. Sources of information include market research, trade publications, scientific journals, and government databases.

Patent and Trademark Resource Centers (PTRC)
A network of centers. They employ specialists (often librarians) who can help you with patent research.

Group Work

Open Statista.
1. Find the dossier "Electric vehicles in the United States."
2. Download and open the PDF.
3. Read Section 5: Special focus on consumers.
4. Think About: How would you use consumer knowledge/intention to inform your marketing strategy?
Go to UCF's PTRC Resource Guide:
1. Read over these sections:
  1. Getting Started
  2. Assistance at UCF
  3. Databases
2. Think about: How would you prepare for an appointment at this PTRC?
Takeaway: How would you use this information as an entrepreneur in the real world?
Evaluate Prof. Robinson: http://bit.ly/olineval

Rollins Resources

Access World News This link opens in a new window
Explore and stay informed on local, national and international topics, people and events in areas such as business, health, education, jobs and careers, political and social issues and more. Features a wide variety of credible, vetted news sources from around the world to around the corner, including Orlando Sentinel. Also available remotely 24/7 on any device.
BMI This link opens in a new window
Now known as BMI, this resource provides users with macroeconomic and financial fundamental data, country risk research and indices, industry research, and more. Clicking on this link will take you to your Okta account, where you can access BMI, formerly known as Fitch Solutions.
Business Insights: Essentials This link opens in a new window
Research global companies and industries with in-depth analysis through current news, statistical data, and reports.
Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
Provides full-text access to journals in all disciplines of business, including marketing, management, MIS, POM, accounting, finance and economics.
If you are looking for Harvard Business Review, this is the only database that has it in full-text. Please be aware that a handful of the most popular articles are blocked by HBR from downloading, printing or linking. You will recognize these titles by a thin yellow banner at the top of the screen. This embargo is HBR's policy, and there is no way around it....but please be aware that you CAN read these articles online.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
A selection of Life Sciences journal articles and book chapters featuring original research, insightful analysis, current theory and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
The Web of Science provides access to multiple databases that provide reference and citation data from academic journals, conference proceedings, and other documents in various academic disciplines.

Other Resources

Alternative Fuels Data Center
"The Alternative Fuels Data Center (AFDC) provides information, data, and tools to help fleets and other transportation decision makers find ways to reach their energy and economic goals through the use of alternative and renewable fuels, advanced vehicles, and other fuel-saving measures."
CDC Technology Transfer Office
"The Centers for Disease Control and Prevention Technology Transfer Office (TTO) partners with industry, academia, non-profits, and other government agencies to transfer CDC’s research portfolio into products and services to improve public health."
NASA Technology Transfer Program
"NASA's Technology Transfer Program ensures that innovations developed for exploration and discovery are broadly available to the public, maximizing the benefit to the Nation. Whether you're looking to start a new company, enhance an existing product, or create a new product line, you can gain a competitive edge in the marketplace by putting NASA technology to work for you."
U.S. Department of Transportation Research and Technology
USGS Technology Transfer
"The technology transfer program at the U.S. Geological Survey (USGS) is designed to leverage the research capabilities of USGS scientists with the commercial development potential of the private sector. It encourages the adoption, use, and commercialization of USGS research products through partnerships and is oriented toward finding potential users of USGS technology."