Last Updated: May 13, 2016
- Business Source Complete
Extensive collection of articles (scholarly, trade, and business reports) on all aspects of business.
- ABI/INFORM Complete
Extensive database on all aspects of business. To hone in on news articles and trade journal reports about a particular company, use the search drop-down menu to select "Company" and then add additional search terms on subsequent lines.
Provides good coverage of industries, and companies that are publicly traded in the United States.
You can search by industry, or by company. By INDUSTRY: on the main page, click on the blue Industries tab at the top of the screen. To view national industry reports, click on Industry Surveys on the left-hand side. To view international industry reports, click on Global Industry Surveys on the left-hand side. By COMPANY: on the main page, use the Simple Search box on the right-hand side and search for the company by name or ticker symbol.
- Hoover's Company Profiles
Provides brief, factual data on over 40,000 companies, including private companies.
- LexisNexis Academic
This is the best source we have for getting information on companies that are traded on the New York Stock Exchange. Select "Get Company Info" on the bottom-right, and enter the name (or ticker) of a company.
If you wish to compile a list of companies in a particular line of business, by geographic region, or by size, select "Get Company Info" on the bottom-right and then select "Company Dossier."
- Business Environment Reports (from IBISWorld)
Concise reports about factors such as exchange rates, commodity prices, consumer attitudes, government policies, etc. which impact specific industries.
- IBISWorld Market Research
Comprehensive research reports on a huge range of U.S. industries and services.
- Market Share Reporter
Enter your company or product on the search box in the LEFT COLUMN under the "search within results" box. You can enter a company name like Merck, or a product like 'shampoo.'
Database, searchable by product or industry, that provides a list of companies from around the world which deal with said product. Provides basic directory information for over one million companies.
Use EDGAR to gather the SEC filings for any U.S. and international company that trades on the U.S. Stock Exchange.
- Global 100: The Most Sustainable Companies in the World
- GRI's Sustainability Disclosure Database
A free resource that links reports submitted to GRI from 8,500 companies outlining their sustainability initiatives.
- UN Global Compact
Here is a list of participants in the UN Global Compact, which asks signatory companies to agree to basic principles regarding labor & human rights, environmental responsibility, and anti-corruption. Each company must submit annual reports. These are authored by the company, but can provide insight into their initiatives.
RobecoSAM is an investment company that evaluates a number of global corporations for wide range of sustainability issues.
This short video will show you how to get a nice, targeted search in a database (rather than trying to drink from a firehouse using Google!)
International Directory of Company Histories
Call Number: Reference HD2721 .D36
Massive set of encyclopedias with chapter-lenth treatment of the history of a company. This set provides an excellent overview of major events in a company's development from its inception to the present day. Use the index in the final volume to look up your company.
Hoovers Handbook of World Business
Call Number: Reference HG 4009.H66
Major Financial Institutions of the World
Call Number: Reference HG64.M35
Florida Business Directory
Call Number: Reference HC107.F6
This is an outstanding source for identifying businesses in Florida. Allows you to search for major employers and businesses in a particular city by SIC code.