Learning Outcomes for RCC Instruction
- Identify and navigate the library website in order to find a variety of trustworthy information sources.
- Recognize how to contact a librarian, tutor, or writing consultant in order to request assistance throughout the research and writing process.
- Select the appropriate library resources, space, or service in order to meet individual learning goals.
- Recognize different search strategies via the library or the open web in order to obtain relevant results.
- Distinguish between types of information sources (scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, books, multimedia, data, websites) in order to determine their respective authority and intent.
From “Matterz of the Fact." John Jennings
Learning Outcomes for RCC Instruction
- Identify and navigate the library website in order to find a variety of trustworthy information sources.
- Recognize how to contact a librarian, tutor, or writing consultant in order to request assistance throughout the research and writing process.
- Select the appropriate library resources, space, or service in order to meet individual learning goals.
- Recognize different search strategies via the library or the open web in order to obtain relevant results.
- Distinguish between types of information sources (scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, books, multimedia, data, websites) in order to determine their respective authority and intent.
Reference
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
Subject Specific Databaes
- MLA International Bibliography This link opens in a new window
The MLA (Modern Language Association) International Bibliography with full text provides access to an index as well as full-text content of books as well as articles published on modern languages, literature, folklore, and linguistics
- Olin Library Research GuidesThe complete list of guides in different subject areas, created by Rollins College librarians.
Newspaper Databases
- African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. These titles, published for or by African Americans, constitute valuable primary sources. Includes Freedom's Journal the first African American newspaper published in the U.S.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers: Chicago DefenderContains the full text of the Africa-American newspaper the Chicago Defender from 1905-1975.
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new windowNew York Times (Historical) covers the full text of the New York Times from 1851 through 2010.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat
Learning Outcomes for RCC Instruction
- Identify and navigate the library website in order to find a variety of trustworthy information sources.
- Recognize how to contact a librarian, tutor, or writing consultant in order to request assistance throughout the research and writing process.
- Select the appropriate library resources, space, or service in order to meet individual learning goals.
- Recognize different search strategies via the library or the open web in order to obtain relevant results.
- Distinguish between types of information sources (scholarly articles, newspaper and magazine articles, books, multimedia, data, websites) in order to determine their respective authority and intent.