Last Updated: Apr 29, 2013
These are streaming media resources selected by the library for use at Rollins College.
- Music Online
Cross searches multiple music databases: American Song, Classical Music Library, Contemporary World Music, Jazz Music library, and Smithsonian Global Sound.
- Classical Music Library
A large multi-label database, Classical Music Library includes recordings for listening and learning. Ever growing, it includes recordings from labels including Hyperion, Bridge Records, Sanctuary Classics, Artemis-Vanguard, Hänssler Classic, Vox and many more. Coverage includes music written from the earliest times (e.g. Gregorian Chant) to the present, including many contemporary composers. Repertoire ranges from vocal and choral music, to chamber, orchestral, solo instrumental, and opera.
- Naxos Music Library
Naxos Music Library [NML] is a large online classical music library. Currently, it offers streaming access to more than 52,677 CDs (more than 756,740 tracks), standard and rare repertoire. Over 800 new CDs are added every month. The library offers the complete Naxos and Marco Polo catalogues plus the complete catalogues or selected titles from over 378 classical, jazz and world music labels. Classic pop and rock music as well as Chinese orchestral music are also represented.
- American Song
American Song is a history database that allows people to hear and feel the music from America's past.The database includes songs by and about American Indians, miners, immigrants, slaves, children, pioneers, and cowboys. Included in the database are the songs of Civil Rights, political campaigns, Prohibition, the Revolutionary War, the Civil War, anti-war protests, and more.
- Contemporary World Music
Contemporary World Music delivers the sounds of all regions from every continent. The database will contain important genres such as reggae, worldbeat, neo-traditional, world fusion, Balkanic jazz, African film, Bollywood, Arab swing and jazz, and other genres such as traditional music - Indian classical, fado, flamenco, klezmer, zydeco, gospel, gagaku, and more.
- Jazz Music Library
Jazz Music Library is a large, comprehensive collection of streaming jazz available online — with thousands of jazz artists, ensembles, albums, and genres.