Welcome!
"A classic is a book that has never finished saying what it has to say."
Italo Calvino
Quote found using Goodreads.
Photo by by Robert Couse-Baker.
Useful Library Links
- Interlibrary LoanRequest books, journal articles, and multimedia that Olin does not have in its collection.
Language and Literature Resources
The databases below focus primarily on articles about literature.
- MLA BibliographyAn index of journals and books on the subjects of folklore, languages, linguistics, and literature.
- Gale Database Power Search This link opens in a new window
This link opens in a new window
Click on the link to "Literature" to see English-specific resources. Includes collections on Books & Authors, as well as full text poems, short stories, biographies, images, plays and more. - LitFinder: Primary Sources & Literary Works This link opens in a new window
- This link opens in a new window
Access literary works and authors throughout history, including full-text poems, plays, short stories, speeches, and more. - Oxford English Dictionary This link opens in a new window
Contains definitions and documentation of the evolution of the English language.
Multidisciplinary Resources
These databases contain a variety of journal articles on multiple topics, including literature.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- Sage Research Methods This link opens in a new window
Sage Research Methods supports research at all levels by providing material to guide users through every step of the research process.
Primary and Other Resources
- Early English Books Online This link opens in a new window
Early English Books Online (EEBO) features page images of almost every work printed in the British Isles and North America, as well as works in English printed elsewhere from 1470-1700.
- Nineteenth Century U.S. Newspapers This link opens in a new windowProvides full text access to primary source newspaper content from the 19th century, with an emphasis on such topics as the Civil War, African-American culture and history, and Western migration, among others.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. These titles, published for or by African Americans, constitute valuable primary sources. Includes Freedom's Journal the first African American newspaper published in the U.S.
- African American Newspapers, Series 2: 1835-1956 This link opens in a new window
Complements and expands on African American Newspapers, Series 1, by including additional titles, such as Frederick Douglass’s New National Era.
- African American Periodicals, 1825-1995 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 170 wide-ranging periodicals by and about African Americans, including news, commentary, advertisements, literature, drawings and photographs, with titles from every region of the United States.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
- ProQuest Historical Newspapers This link opens in a new windowSearches both the Chicago Defender (1910-1975) and the Historical New York Times (1851-2012).
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed. - Swank Digital Campus This link opens in a new windowSwank Digital Campus provides the Rollins community with a legal streaming resource on and off campus, for a limited number of films. Public performance rights are not included.
