What are these sources?
These sites are recommended for historical research, and are selected for authority, accuracy, objectivity, coverage, and currency. They do not include the article databases available through Olin Library subscription.
Primary Sources for African-American History
- American MemoryThis resource from the Library of Congress contains multiple collections featuring millions of historical photos, maps, documents, letters, speeches, recordings, videos, prints, and other materials.
- Documenting the American SouthA digital publishing initiative from the University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill that provides access to twelve thematic collections of books, diaries, posters, artifacts, letters, oral history interviews, and songs related to southern history, literature, and culture. It includes primary source slavery narratives and other first-person narratives of the South.
- Florida Memory ProjectSearchable collections of manuscripts, war records, historic images, vital statistics, audio and video recordings.
- Rollins Digital Archives: Winter Park and FloridaThis collection includes photos, postcards, and historical documents that are related to Winter Park and Florida before the age of theme parks.
- Lynching in AmericaWith support from Google, the Equal Justice Initiative has created an interactive experience inspired by their report Lynching in America: Confronting the Legacy of Racial Terror. This project tells the story of racial terror in America and explores how its legacy continues to shape the United States today.
- Jazz Photography of William P. GottliebPhotographs taken by writer-photographer William P. Gottlieb, from 1938 to 1948, the "Golden Age of Jazz".
