It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Africa and African-American Studies: Find Reference Resources
Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages. Looking up a topic in a reference book is an excellent way to familiarize yourself with the key concepts, terminology, and people associated with the topic. This background is important both for understanding a topic and for searching effectively in online databases for articles and books. In addition, many reference works provide carefully selected bibliographies which may lead you to further reading.
African-American History Sources
The following are just a few examples of the reference books available which might be particularly useful for your class. Similar books might be found nearby under similar call numbers. They can be found on the second (main entry) floor of the library.
A fresh compilation of essays and entries based on the latest research, this work documents African American culture and political activism from the slavery era through the 20th century. * Contributions from over 100 specialists on African America and the African diaspora * A spectacular selection of illustrations and photographs, such as a Kongo cosmogram, the African burial ground in New York City, and maps of the Triangular Trade and the Underground Railroad
Slavery in America by Dorothy Schneider; Carl J. Schneider
Call Number: 1st Floor E441 .S36 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-01
This is an in-depth reference to the history of American slavery. The history of the enslavement of African Americans in North America stretches from the beginning of European colonization to the end of the Civil War. ""Slavery in America, Revised Edition"" recounts this history, as well as the Reconstruction period, by examining many of its aspects: the slave catchers and their coffles in Africa, the crowded slave ships that transported Africans to America, slave auctions, life and labor on plantations, escape attempts and insurrections, and the Civil War and eventual emancipation. This edition also features a new chapter that extends coverage through Reconstruction. The authors capture the complexities and the extent of slavery, as well as document the wide differences in the ways people reacted to this terrible institution. Hundreds of firsthand accounts illustrate how historical events appeared to those who lived through them. In addition, each chapter provides an introductory essay and a chronology of events. The book also includes helpful features such as critical documents and capsule biographies of more than 100 key figures.
This four-volume encyclopedia contains compelling and comprehensive information on African American popular culture that will be valuable to high school students and undergraduates, college instructors, researchers, and general readers. * Contains writings from 100 contributing authors, all identified in a separate listing * Includes a chronology placing pivotal events--such as the beginning of black baseball, the modern Civil Rights Movement, and the Harlem Renaissance--in historical context * Depicts key places, events, and people through photographs as well as words * Provides a list of black radio programs and movies
Encyclopedia of African American Women Writers by Yolanda Williams Page (Editor)
Call Number: 4th Floor PS153 .N5 E49 2007
Publication Date: 2007-01-30
African American women writers published extensively during the Harlem Renaissance and have been extraordinarily prolific since the 1970s. This book surveys the world of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. The Encyclopedia covers established contemporary authors such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, along with a range of neglected and emerging figures. Each entry is written by an expert contributor and provides a brief biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the author's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. Literature students will value this book for its exploration of African American literature, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of social issues through literature. African American women writers have made an enormous contribution to our culture. Many of these authors wrote during the Harlem Renaissance, a particularly vital time in African American arts and letters, while others have been especially active since the 1970s, an era in which works by African American women are adapted into films and are widely read in book clubs. Literature by African American women is important for its aesthetic qualities, and it also illuminates the social issues which these authors have confronted. This book conveniently surveys the lives and works of African American women writers. Included are alphabetically arranged entries on more than 150 African American women novelists, poets, playwrights, short fiction writers, autobiographers, essayists, and influential scholars. Some of these figures, such as Toni Morrison and Gloria Naylor, are among the most popular authors writing today, while others have been largely neglected or are recently emerging. Each entry provides a biography, a discussion of major works, a survey of the writer's critical reception, and primary and secondary bibliographies. The Encyclopedia closes with a selected, general bibliography. Students and general readers will welcome this guide to the rich achievement of African American women. Literature students will value its exploration of the works of these writers, while social studies students will appreciate its examination of the social issues these women confront in their works. Includes entries on more than 150 African American women novelists, poets, playwrights, autobiographers, essayists, influential scholars, and short fiction writers Provides a selected, general bibliography Includes alphabetical and chronological lists of authors Lists authors according to the genres in which they worked Lists winners of major literary awards