What are these sources?
These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to African and African American Studies. The specialized databases listed are devoted in whole or in part to the field; the multidisciplinary databases listed cover history publications among those in other fields.
African-American Studies in the News
Specialized Databases
-
Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A guide to works in African studies which includes monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets.
-
African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Provides online access to 280 U.S. newspapers chronicling a century and a half of the African American experience, which includes papers from more than 35 states, features many rare and historically significant 19th-century titles.
-
Chicago Defender: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, and legislation. More than two thirds of its readership resided outside of Chicago.
-
AnthroSource This link opens in a new window
An online service of the American Anthropological Association (AAA), provides access to over 100 years of anthropological knowledge, supporting the research, teaching, and professional needs of anthropologists.
Multidisciplinary Databases
-
Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Provides collections of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more.
-
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
-
ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Provides access to articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
