What are these sources?
These online databases provide the full text or citations for journal articles and other publications relevant to African and African American Studies. The specialized databases listed are devoted in whole or in part to the field; the multidisciplinary databases listed cover history publications among those in other fields.
African-American Studies in the News
Specialized Databases
- Africa Bibliography This link opens in a new window
A guide to works in African studies which includes monographs, chapters in edited volumes, journal articles, and pamphlets.
- African American Newspapers, Series 1: 1827-1998 This link opens in a new window
Features more than 270 newspapers from 35 states. These titles, published for or by African Americans, constitute valuable primary sources. Includes Freedom's Journal the first African American newspaper published in the U.S.
- Chicago Defender: ProQuest Historical Newspapers (1909 - 1975) This link opens in a new window
Full-text historical newspaper covering African American life, civil rights, segregation, and legislation. More than two thirds of its readership resided outside of Chicago.
- AnthroSource This link opens in a new windowAnthroSource is a collection of all past and current publications of the American Anthropological Association, including journals, newsletters, bulletins, and conference proceedings. This includes the entire publication history of each title; the earliest journals in the collection date back to the late 19th century.
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
