Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Latin American and Caribbean Studies

This guide provides resources on Latin America and the Caribbean to help you with your research.

Contact Susan

profile pic

Susan Montgomery, Public Services Librarian

Email: smontgomery@rollins.edu

Ph: 407-646-2295

Assignment

Research papers in this class are to focus on events/developments associated with the historical developments in Mexico since its independence from Spain in 1821.  Papers may be focused on political, economic, social, and cultural matters. 

Research papers are a minimum of twelve (12) pages of typed, double-spaced text, i.e. not including citations, bibliography, title pages, photos, etc. Research papers less than twelve (12) pages of text cannot make higher than a C grade.

Research papers must be based on a blend of primary and secondary sources.  Each research paper must include in the final draft the use of at least five separate primary sources and a minimum of ten secondary sources. Research papers failing to meet these standards cannot make higher than a C grade.

Research papers must be well organized.  They should include an introduction with a clearly defined thesis statement, text that provides background and supporting evidence for your thesis, and a conclusion that summarizes your findings.

The papers must be correctly cited using the most recent edition of The Chicago Manual of Style.  Failure to do so will lower your overall grade on the term paper twenty points.

DUE DATES IN RESEARCH PAPER PROJECT

September 15 (Tuesday): Individual meeting/submission of “Research Paper Approval Form”

October 30 (Friday): Research paper minimum draft bibliography due

November 6 (Friday): Miminum two-page outline w/ thesis statement due

November 16 (Monday): Research paper due

Search the Olin Library

 Advanced Search

Recommended Databases - Specialized

These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.

Recommended Databases - General

These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history. For other databases which might also be useful, choose the "Find Articles" tab near the top of this page.

Primary Sources