Search the Olin Library
Recommended Databases - General
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history.
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
JSTOR is a digital library of academic journals, books, images, and primary sources.
Recommended Databases - Specialized
These online databases (available both on and off-campus to Rollins students) are particularly recommended for finding articles concerning Latin American history.
- LatAm Studies Full text Online This link opens in a new windowA database service dedicated to the promotion and dissemination of research on Latin America and the Caribbean. Most content and much of the interface are in Spanish.
Primary Sources on the Web
- Sources And General Resources On Latin AmericaA collection of links to primary sources online compiled by Stephen Volk, a Professor of History at Oberlin College
- Colonial Latin AmericaThe Internet Modern History Sourcebook is one of series of history primary sourcebooks. It is intended to serve the needs of teachers and students in college history survey courses. The project began as a way to access texts that were already available on the Internet and it now contains hundreds of texts made available locally.
- Lanic - MexicoUniversity of Texas gateway to Latin American countries and academic networks. The foremost internet directory for Latin America.
- Archivo General de la Nacion - MexicoNational Archive of Mexico. In Spanish.
- American JourneysAmerican Journeys contains more than 18,000 pages of eyewitness accounts of North American exploration, from the sagas of Vikings in Canada in AD1000 to the diaries of mountain men in the Rockies 800 years later.
Read the words of explorers, Indians, missionaries, traders and settlers as they lived through the founding moments of American history. View, search, print, or download more than 150 rare books, original manuscripts, and classic travel narratives from the library and archives of the Wisconsin Historical Society. - The Avalon ProjectThe Avalon Project will mount digital documents relevant to the fields of Law, History, Economics, Politics, Diplomacy and Government. We do not intend to mount only static text but rather to add value to the text by linking to supporting documents expressly referred to in the body of the text.
- Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC)The Digital Library of the Caribbean (dLOC) is a cooperative digital library for resources from and about the Caribbean and circum-Caribbean. dLOC provides access to digitized versions of Caribbean cultural, historical and research materials currently held in archives, libraries, and private collections.
- Exploring the Early AmericasExploring the Early Americas features selections from the more than 3,000 rare maps, documents, paintings, prints, and artifacts that make up the Jay I. Kislak Collection at the Library of Congress. It provides insight into indigenous cultures, the drama of the encounters between Native Americans and European explorers and settlers, and the pivotal changes caused by the meeting of the American and European worlds.
WorldCat Search
Find items from other libraries near you with Worldcat.org, and borrow them by submitting an Interlibrary Loan request:
Purdue Owl
- Purdue OWL Chicago Manual of StylePurdue University Online Writing Lab is a wonderful resource that provides a more concise guide to Chicago Style than the manual to the left.
Print Reference Books
Reference sources are a good place to get an overview of a topic in a few paragraphs or a few pages; lengthier treatments of particular topics can be found in the library's general collection using the online catalog.
- New Iberian world : a documentary history of the discovery and settlement of Latin America to the early 17th century byCall Number: F1411 .I18 1984 V. 1-5ISBN: 0812910702Publication Date: 1984
Encyclopedia of Latin American History and Culture by Call Number: F1406 .E53 1996 V. 1 19965 volumes.
The Cambridge history of Latin America by Call Number: F1410 .C1834 19849 volumes, arranged chronologically: Volumes 1-2: Colonial Latin America; Volume 3:. From independence to c1870; Volume 4: c1870 - c 1930; Volumes 5 - 9: 1930 - 1990.
