What are these sources?
The Olin Library has a number of archaeology resources that can be checked out. Below is a sampling of some of the materials we have in our collection. All of the books listed can be found on our third and four floor. If we don't have a book you're looking for, we can inter-library loan it for you. If you need help, please see a librarian
Methods and Practices
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology of the Contemporary World by Call Number: CC75 .O94 2013ISBN: 9780199602001Publication Date: 2013-12-10
Field methods in archaeology by Call Number: CC76 .H47 2009ISBN: 9781598744286This comprehensive guide provides an authoritative overview of the variety of methods used in field archaeology, from research design, to survey and excavation strategies, to conservation of artifacts and record-keeping.
Mapping Landscapes in Transformation: Multidisciplinary Methods for Historical AnalysisISBN: 9461662831Publication Date: 2019
Cultural Archaeology
Archaeology, cultural heritage, and the antiquities trade by Call Number: CC135 .A733 2006ISBN: 0813029724This collection of essays investigates the ways that com-modifying artifacts fuels the destruction of archaeological heritage and considers what can be done to protect it.
Landscape Archaeology
Archaeologies of landscape: contemporary perspectives by Call Number: CC75 .A655 1999ISBN: 0631211055This book offers new and diverse perspectives on the ideational qualities of past landscapes. The editors introduce several theoretical sources supporting studies of ideational landscapes and, in so doing, give definitions of key categories of landscape, as constructed, conceived, and ideational.
Scientific Archaeology
Archaeological chemistry by Call Number: CC79 .C5 A725 2008ISBN: 9780854042623The book provides an overview of modern analytical methods applied to archaeologically relevant materials, including clay, metal, obsidian, resin, dairy products, bones and teeth.
Bioarchaeology : the contextual analysis of human remains by Call Number: CC79 .H85 B56 2006ISBN: 9780123695413This book focuses upon North American bioarchaeology, which analyzes the lives of past peoples through human remains. It draws methods and theoretical perspectives from across the sciences and the humanities.
Find Books, Films, & More
Search the Olin Library catalog
Other Search Options
Use R-Search to search almost all of the library's resources. You can narrow your search to include only particular results such as articles, or limit your search to just scholarly sources.
Search and preview millions of books from libraries and publishers worldwide using Google Book Search. Discover a new favorite or unearth an old classic.
Location Specific Archaeology
The Oxford Handbook of North American Archaeology by Call Number: E77.9 .O94 2015ISBN: 9780190241094Publication Date: 2015-04-01
The Oxford Handbook of the Archaeology and Anthropology of Hunter-Gatherers by Call Number: GN388 .O94 2014ISBN: 9780199551224Publication Date: 2014-06-24
Archaeology of Asia by Call Number: DS11 .A72 2006ISBN: 1405102128This introduction to the archaeology of Asia focuses on case studies from the region's last 10,000 years of history.
The golden age of Chinese archaeology : celebrated discoveries from the People's Republic of China by Call Number: DS715 .G65 1999ISBN: 0300081324This book covers more than 200 masterpieces uncovered in China from the period 5000 BC to the 10th century AD.
Ancient Rome : the archaeology of the eternal city by Call Number: DG63 .A57 2000ISBN: 0947816542Documenting the archaeology of Rome, the book contains new research, maps of the topography and monuments of Rome, a research bibliography containing 1,700 titles, and more.
The archaeology of ancient Australia by Call Number: GN875 .A8 H56 2008ISBN: 0415338107This book is an introduction to the archaeology of Australia from prehistoric times to the eighteenth century AD.
Theory
Archaeological theory : an introduction by Call Number: CC72 .J65 2010ISBN: 9781405100144This text offers students an entry point to the major concepts and ongoing debates in archaeological research.
Mesoamerican archaeology: theory and practice by Call Number: F1435 .M557 2004ISBN: 0631230513The book offers a comprehensive introduction to the archaeology of Mesoamerica by focusing on key time periods, sites, and the issues these times and places require us to confront.
Theory and practice in Mediterranean archaeology: Old World and New World perspectives by Call Number: CC101 .M44 T46 2003ISBN: 1931745102This book discusses where we have been and where we are now in terms of the theory and methodology of archaeology in the Mediterranean.
Maritime Archaeology
Maritime archaeology : a reader of substantive and theoretical contributions by Call Number: CC77 .U5 M366 1998ISBN: 0306453304A collection of writings from lectures, academic papers, and journal articles on theory and practice of maritime archaeology, covering the period from the field's inception in the late 1940s to the present.
Historical Archaeology
Historical archaeology : back from the edge by Call Number: CC77 .H5 H574 1999ISBN: 0415117879Involving the study of all societies with documentary evidence, this book ranges in subject matter from Roman Britain and Classical Greece, to colonial Africa, Brazil and the United States.
In pursuit of ancient pasts: a history of classical archaeology in the nineteenth and twentieth centuries by Call Number: CC100 .D97 2006ISBN: 0300110979This book provides a comprehensive account of the history and development of classical archaeology, explaining how and why artifacts have moved from foreign soil to collections around the world.
Your Librarian
Academic Videos Online
- Academic Video Online This link opens in a new window
Academic Video Online delivers video titles spanning the widest range of subject areas including anthropology, business, counseling, film, health, history, music, and more.
- Films on Demand This link opens in a new window
Films On Demand is a comprehensive, curriculum-focused video subscription providing unlimited access to thousands of videos. With over 26,000 titles and counting, Films on Demand includes Oscar, Emmy, and Peabody award–winning documentaries and A-list performances spanning the arts.
- Kanopy Streaming Video This link opens in a new window
Provides access to videos that can be streamed and viewed instantly. Collections include feature films, educational documentaries, and rare archival footage on a variety of topics.
Videos available in Kanopy that are not part of the library’s collection can be requested, but there are added costs associated for the Library budget for each film. For this reason, requests will be reviewed and some may be denied or delayed.
Call Numbers
Specific call numbers for books are found in the online catalog, but when browsing the shelves, it helps to know something about them.
The broad topics indicated by the first letter of the "call number" are often broken down into subtopics with a second letter, and are then refined in much greater detail with the addition of numbers. A full listing of Library of Congress call numbers can be found here: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
The digits in these call numbers are read as counting numbers, not as decimals as in the Dewey Decimal system. This means that DL 1175 is found between DL 1174 and DL 1179, well after DL 117 or DL 118.
This arrangement of books by subject matter makes shelf-browsing convenient. If you find a useful book, the books nearby on the shelf are likely to be closely related in topic.