What are these sources?
This page recommends sources likely to be of particular use for RCC 100: Pursuit of Dao.
Find Books, Films, & More
Search the Olin Library catalog
Specialized Databases
- Philosopher's Index This link opens in a new windowContains indexes and abstracts from books and journals of philosophy.
- L'Annee PhilologiqueAn index to books, journal articles and ancient texts in Classical Studies. This database is limited to 10 simultaneous users.
Call Numbers
Specific call numbers for books are found in the online catalog, but when browsing the shelves, it helps to know something about them. Books about philosophy can be found shelved in the library under the following Library of Congress call numbers:
| B | Philosophy (General) |
| BC | Logic |
| BD | Speculative philosophy |
| BF | Psychology |
| BH | Aesthetics |
| BJ | Ethics |
| BL | Religion. Myth. Rationalism |
| BM | Judaism |
| BP | Islam. Bahaism. Theosophy |
| BQ | Buddhism |
| BR | Christianity |
| BS | The Bible |
| BT | Doctrinal Theology |
| BV | Practical Theology |
| BX | Christian Denominations |
The broad topics indicated by the first letter of the "call number" are often broken down into subtopics with a second letter, and are then refined in much greater detail with the addition of numbers. A full listing of Library of Congress call numbers can be found here: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
The digits in these call numbers are read as counting numbers, not as decimals as in the Dewey Decimal system. This means that DL 1175 is found between DL 1174 and DL 1179, well after DL 117 or DL 118.
This arrangement of books by subject matter makes shelf-browsing convenient. If you find a useful book, the books nearby on the shelf are likely to be closely related in topic.
Annotated Bibliography
What is an annotated bibliography?
MLA, APA & Chicago style samples of annotated biographies.
Books on Chinese Philosophy
The Path by Call Number: B126 .P84 2016ISBN: 9781476777832Publication Date: 2016-04-05
Encyclopedia of Chinese Philosophy by Call Number: B126 .E496 2003ISBN: 0415939135Publication Date: 2002-12-30
Life, Liberty, and the Pursuit of Dao by Call Number: B127 .C65 C73 2013ISBN: 9780470674772Publication Date: 2013-10-14
Key Concepts in Chinese Philosophy by Call Number: B126 .Z4513 2002ISBN: 0300092105Publication Date: 2002-11-10
Books on Taoism
Dream Trippers by Call Number: BL1923 .P35 2017ISBN: 9780226484846Publication Date: 2017-11-27
Philosophical enactment and bodily cultivation in early Daoism : in the matrix of the Daodejing by ISBN: 9781350236677Publication Date: 2022
The Philosophy of the Daodejing by Call Number: General Collection - 1st Floor BL1900 .L35 M64 2006ISBN: 0231136781Publication Date: 2006-05-02
Confucianism
Neo-Confucian Self-Cultivation by Call Number: B127 .N4 K44 2011ISBN: 9780824834968Publication Date: 2011-05-02
Your Librarian
Online Reference
- Concise Routledge Encyclopedia of PhilosophyBased on the ten-volume Routledge Encyclopedia of Philosophy (Reference B 51 .R68 1998), this online encyclopedia comprises topics in philosophy covering all continents and all time periods.
- Stanford Encyclopedia of PhilosophyA "scholarly dynamic reference work" which provides articles by experts on many topics in philosophy. Includes a search engine and a table of contents for easy access to articles.
- The Oxford Companion to PhilosophyAddresses works of the great philosophers, the British and American thinkers of the English language, major figures in other languages, and contemporary philosophers. The first edition is available in print in the reference collection (Reference B51.O94 1995). The second edition is available online.