What are these sources?
This page recommends online databases and free websites useful for finding articles and data.
R-Search
Asian Study Databases
- Asia Studies Full-Text OnlineA database of scholarly literature, statistics, and analysis of Asia-Pacific covering Asia, Australia, and the Pacific Islands.
- Asian Studies Subject GuideMore resources for Asian studies recommended by a Rollins librarian.
Books on Youth Culture in China
Youth Culture in China by Call Number: (3rd Floor) HQ799 .C5 C58 2012ISBN: 9781107016514Publication Date: 2012-05-07
China's millennials : the want generation by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 144224884XPublication Date: 2015
Urban Youth in China: modernity, the internet and the self by Call Number: (3rd Floor) HN740 .Z9 I5676 2011ISBN: 9780415874861Publication Date: 2010-12-21
Youth and Internet Addiction in China by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 9781135096953Publication Date: 2013-08-15
Little Emperors and Material Girls: sex and youth in modern China by Call Number: (3rd Floor) HQ27 .S745 2015ISBN: 9781780769844Publication Date: 2015-04-28
Multidisciplinary Databases
- Academic Search Ultimate This link opens in a new window
Academic Search Ultimate offers an extensive collection of peer-reviewed journals, magazines, reports, books, and videos covering various subjects like astronomy, engineering, health, law, mathematics, and more. It's a comprehensive resource for scholars in many fields.
- ProQuest Research Library This link opens in a new window
Articles from scholarly journals, popular magazines and newspapers, in many different subject areas.
- JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Offers full-text access to articles from leading journals in several fields in the humanities, sciences, and social sciences.
What is a Primary Source?
Primary sources are original sources created at the time an event occurs and are directly associated with their producer (or user). They serve as the raw materials researchers use to analyze and interpret the past.
Examples include: Diaries, Letters, Newspapers, Government Documents, Photographs, Novels, Interviews, Photographs, Speeches, and Clothing. This is just a sampling of what can be considered a primary source.
Library Primary Source Databases
- New York Times, 1851-2019 (ProQuest Historical Newspapers) This link opens in a new window
The New York Times is an American newspaper based in New York City with worldwide influence and readership. Founded in 1851, the paper has won 127 Pulitzer Prizes, more than any other newspaper.
- Times Digital Archive This link opens in a new window
With over 12 million articles available, the archive supports research across multiple disciplines and areas of interest, including business, humanities, political science, and philosophy, along with coverage of all major international historical events.
- AP ArchiveThis YouTube channel makes available the film and video archive of The Associated Press, one of the largest and most trusted sources of independent newsgathering. The collection offers 1.7 million global news and entertainment video stories dating back to 1895.
Annotated Bibliography
What is an annotated bibliography?
MLA, APA & Chicago style samples of annotated biographies.
Print Reference Books
Contemporary Youth Culture: An International Encyclopedia by Call Number: ONLINEISBN: 0313327165Publication Date: 2005-12-01
Berkshire Encyclopedia of China by Call Number: Reference DS735 .A2 B47 2009800 entries covering key aspects of China's past and present. Volume 5 includes an index to the entire set. 5 volumes
China Today: An Encyclopedia of Life in the People's Republic by Call Number: Reference DS777.6 .C458 2005Over 200 entries look at major aspects of the People's Republic of China and Taiwan from 1949 to the present. 2 volumes.
Encyclopedia of Contemporary Chinese Culture by Call Number: Reference DS779.23 .E53 2005Almost 1,200 entries detailing cultural subjects since 1980 in such areas as architecture, education, ethnicity, fashion, film, food, language, literature, media, music, peforming arts, political culture, religion, society, sports, visual arts, and gender. While the book's main focus is on mainland China, special sections cover Hong Kong and Taiwan.
Historical Dictionary of the Chinese Cultural Revolution by Call Number: General DS778.7 .G86 2006Alphabetical entries describing key individuals, organizations, concepts, and events from the era of the Chinese Cultural Revolution, roughly 1966 to 1976.
Encyclopedia of Modern Asia by Call Number: General DS4 .E53 2002Information on people, places, events, and issues across Asia since 1850. 6 volumes.
Subject Guide
Ask a Librarian Chat
Call Numbers
Specific call numbers for books are found in the online catalog, but when browsing the shelves, it helps to know something about them.
The broad topics indicated by the first letter of the "call number" are often broken down into subtopics with a second letter, and are then refined in much greater detail with the addition of numbers. A full listing of Library of Congress call numbers can be found here: http://www.loc.gov/catdir/cpso/lcco/
The digits in these call numbers are read as counting numbers, not as decimals as in the Dewey Decimal system. This means that DL 1175 is found between DL 1174 and DL 1179, well after DL 117 or DL 118.
This arrangement of books by subject matter makes shelf-browsing convenient. If you find a useful book, the books nearby on the shelf are likely to be closely related in topic.