Asia Society is the leading global and pan-Asian organization working to strengthen relationships and promote understanding among the people, leaders, and institutions of the United States and Asia.
The National Bureau of Asian Research (NBR) is a nonpartisan, nonprofit organization that provides independent research about US relations with Asia. Started in 1989, it contracts with specialists to conduct much of its research on topics including political, economic, energy, and health issues. This independent research is published in one of NBR's four publications: Strategic Asia, Asia Policy, NBR Analysis, or NBR Reports. Some articles may be viewed and downloaded in PDF for free, whereas others are offered as free previews with the option to purchase.
BRC is a registered non-profit corporation dedicated to the preservation, organization and dissemination of Tibetan literature. Using the latest technological solutions, and a dedicated team of scholars, engineers, librarians, and technicians, TBRC aims to make the extraordinary literature of the Tibetan people available to all.
English-language scholarly and philosophical information about Taoism
This section presents an outline of the history of Shinto from ancient times until the contemporary period, including an explanation of other religions and philosophies that have influenced Shinto.
This site contains a bibliography of the philosophical literature of India during its classical phase and the secondary material on this literature that is available (for the most part) in English.
A large network for Buddhist education and information
A useful guide created by the National Taiwan University
The Tibetan and Himalayan Library (THL) is a publisher of websites, information services, and networking facilities relating to the Tibetan plateau and southern Himalayan regions.
Asian-Pacific Journal (Japan focus)
History: Asia - Primary Sources. A research guide with many links to primary and secondary sources in Asian history from the University of Washington Libraries.The site is organized into regions (East Asia, South Asia, and Southeast Asia) and by country.
Resources for East Asian Language and Thought: focuses on Buddhist resources. Compiled by Professor A. Charles Muller from University of Tokyo.
The Digital South Asia Library Based at the Center for Research Libraries, participants in the project include the Library of Congress, the Asia Society, the British Library, and the South Asia Microform Project. The digitized materials are assigned to eight primary sections, including Reference Sources such as full-text dictionaries, Images, Maps, and Statistics from the colonial period to the present.
The East Asian Collection Historical images that present a visual archive of 20th century East Asian cultural heritage.
World Digital Library Developed by UNESCO and the Library of Congress, The World Digital Library (WDL) makes available on the Internet, free of charge and in multilingual format, significant primary materials from countries and cultures around the world.
Visual Sourcebook of Chinese Civilization
Baidu.com is a leading Chinese search engine, equivalent to Google and Wikipedia (Baidu Baike) combined. It can be used as a guide to resources and for validating information.
This website, hosted by Digital Himalaya, provides access to a collection of ethnographic films and video from the Himalaya Region.
This website holds detailed information on over 6000 films showing images of life in the British colonies. "Search Film By Country" to locate South Asia content. Over 150 films available for viewing online.
The Freer Gallery of Art and Arthur M. Sackler Gallery Archives is a manuscript and photograph repository dedicated to furthering the study of Asian and Middle Eastern art, archaeology and culture.
The Brooklyn Museum is one of the largest art museums in the United States and one of the premier art institutions in the world.
The Asian Art Museum–Chong-Moon Lee Center for Asian Art and Culture is one of San Francisco's premier arts institutions and home to a world-renowned collection of more than 18,000 Asian Art treasures spanning 6000 years of history.
The Allen Memorial Art Musem’s Asian collection is perhaps best known for its more than 1700 Japanese woodblock prints. The collection also includes a number of fine Chinese, Japanese and Korean paintings and decorative arts, spanning the centuries from ancient to contemporary, as well as an outstanding collection of carpets.
Digital Collections created by the University of Wisconsin.
Country profiles provide a quick guide to the history, politics and economic background of Asian and Asia-Pacific countries.
This site provides background, history, images about Japan's traditional performing arts of Noh and Kyogen, developed together in the 14th century during the Muromachi period (1333－1573).
On this site you will be able to learn the Japanese alphabet (including Hiragana and Katakana) as well as Kanji, Japanese grammar, sentence structure, and useful Japanese phrases.
This free site has thriving forum for beginner & advanced students as well as hundreds of pages of free language learning articles. There is also a videos section with a growing collection of Japanese language related videos