It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
Multi-volume set providing excellent chapter length coverage of major plays. Includes synopsis, character analysis, and discussion of themes and historical context. Consul the index at the end of the last volume to identify plays that have been covered.
Oxford Companion to the Theatre
Call Number: GENERAL PN2035.O9 1967 (3rd Floor)
Quick definitions for people, theatrical eras, genres, places, famous theatres, stage jargon, etc.
Shakespeare's World and Work
Call Number: GENERAL PR2892 .S56 (3rd Floor)
International Encyclopedia of Dance
Call Number: GENERAL GV1585 .I586 (3rd Floor)
Oxford Encyclopedia of Theatre and Performance
Call Number: GENERAL PN2035.O92 2003
While most theatrical encyclopedias focus on famous people, places, and genres...this one is unique in covering the performance aspects of theatre. 2 volumes.
A Biographical Dictionary of Actors, Actresses, Musicians, Dancers in London, 1660-1800
Call Number: GENERAL PN 2597 .H5 (3rd Floor)
Massive, 14 volume set that is the definitive resource for early modern theatre in England.
The Elizabethan Stage
Call Number: GENERAL PN2589 .C4 (3rd Floor)
The classic, four volume set providing comprehensive coverage of this vital period of theatrical history.
The most comprehensive record of the theatrical season-Broadway, Off-Broadway, and Off-Off-Broadway, including listings for over 60 regional companies. Each entry includes photos, a complete cast listing, producers, directors, authors, composers, opening and closing dates, song titles, and plot synopses. Theatre World also features obituaries, nominees and winners of the major theatrical awards, photos, and other information