Social Entrepreneurship

A large database for finding and applying for federal government grants.

A database of federal grant programs available for nonprofits and government agencies. After you identify a program you are interested in, contact the office that administers the program for instructions on applying.

The Edythe Bush Institute provides free access on a walk-in basis to Foundation Directory Online and GuideStar Premium, two powerful tools for nonprofit research. Please contact ebi@rollins.edu to schedule an appointment.

A database of over 400 charitable foundations in the central Florida area, containing data on their mission, governance, and expenses. Use the search box in the upper-right corner to initiate a search, or the "Advanced Search" feature on the left of the screen to identify nonprofits by select criteria.

A searchable database of 5,500 of America's largest charities. Evaluation of the charities expenses, distribution of funds, and current income statements.

A large database of public and faith-based ministries. Contains evaluations of the organization's transparency, fiscal efficiency, and program accomplishments.

Check-A-Charity is a resource that provides the financial information reported to the Florida Department of Agriculture and Consumer Services from charitable organizations.

Large collection of statistical data on nonprofits and charities.

This booklet contains all the necessary forms and instructions that must be filed by not-for-profit organizations in Florida.

Form 990 is an IRS public document that tax-exempt organizations with annual receipts of more than $100,000 or total assets more than $250,000 must file annually. Form 990-EZ is an IRS form for organizations with annual receipts of less than $100,000 but at least $25,000 and total assets less than $250,000. Religious organizations should research whether they require a Form 990 filing or not.

This landing page from the IRS has key tax information for nonprofits, including information on tax-exempt status rules.